The Intruders Philly Golden Classics (2-CD)

Philly Golden Classics (2-CD)
8 ratings
SALE: $16.98
List Price: $25.97
You Save: $8.99 (35% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 8820
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

One of the earliest practitioners of Philly Soul and one of the most enduring. The Intruders were mainstays on the R&B charts from the early '60s to the early '70s. Produced by Gamble and Huff (who also wrote practically all the group's hits), this group often crossed over from the R&B to the Pop charts. This 2 compact disc set highlights their best work, including their chart-topper from 1968, "Cowboys To Girls".

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Cowboys To Girls
  • 2.Together
  • 3.United, (We'll Be)
  • 4.Love Is Like A Baseball Game
  • 5.Slow Drag
  • 6.When We Get Married
  • 7.Sad Girl
  • 8.A Love That's Real
  • 9.Friends No More
  • 10.Gonna Be Strong
  • 11.Me Tarzan, You Jane
  • 12.Check Yourself
  • 13.Save The Children
  • 14.Mother And Child Reunion
  • 15.I Wanna Know Your Name
  • 16.To Be Happy Is The Real Thing

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'll Always Love My Mama
  • 2.Memories Are Here To Stay
  • 3.Teardrops
  • 4.Hang On In There
  • 5.Energy Of Love
  • 6.Rainy Days And Mondays
  • 7.A Nice Girl Like You
  • 8.Jan
  • 9.Be Thankful For What You Got
  • 10.What's Easy For Two Is So Hard For One
  • 11.Lonely Lonely
  • 12.Everyone's A Star
  • 13.Plain Ol' Fashioned Girl
  • 14.Be On Time

Product Description:

The Intruders: Sam "Little Sonny" Brown, Eugene "Bird" Daughtry, Philip Terry, Robert "Big Sonny" Edwards.
This features all the great Intruders tracks uncut and digitally remastered; 112-plus minutes divvyed among 30 tracks. These light, peppy sounds are so arresting they play more quickly than their times. Diehards will lament the omissions of "I'm Girl Scoutin'," "Devil With an Angel's Smile," "Lollipop," "Give Her a Transplant," "Old Love," and some strong B-sides, but this is good and all that the Intruders' big fans will ever need. Little Sonny (Sam Brown) displays snake-charming ability via a sandpapery tenor, and Eugene Daughtery, Phil Terry, and Robert Edwards provide some of soul's most enjoyable harmonies. Check the pings in "A Love's That Real." ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Intruders

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 18,662
  • UPC: 090431882023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)