New Orleans: Rebuild Restore Rejoice
by Various Artists

New Orleans: Rebuild Restore Rejoice
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EYQV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Mardi Gras Records


  • Buy for $0.991.It Ain't My Fault - Dejan's Olympia Brass Band
  • Buy for $0.992.I Ate Up The Apple Tree - Rebirth Brass Band
  • Buy for $0.993.Shake It and Break It - Magnificent Sevenths
  • Buy for $0.994.Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out - Big Al Carson
  • Buy for $0.995.Shake A Hand - Marva Wright
  • Buy for $0.996.Ruler of My Heart - Irma Thomas
  • Buy for $0.997.Bald Head - Professor Longhair
  • Buy for $0.998.I'm A Girl Watcher - Beau Jocque
  • Buy for $0.999.Let Your Mind Be Free - Soul Rebels
  • Buy for $0.9910.Just Chillin' - Magnificent Sevenths
  • Buy for $0.9911.Wade In The River - Dejan's Olympia Brass Band
  • Buy for $0.9912.Feel So Good - Magnificent Sevenths

Product Description:

Beyond the obvious connection of the title, New Orleans: Rebuild Restore Rejoice doesn't draw any direct lines to the devastation wrought by the landfall of Hurricane Katrina at summer's close in 2005, which doesn't mean that these tracks recorded by various artists on the Mardi Gras Records roster aren't a reflection of life after the storm. Track after track reaches for joy and rebirth as if nothing else really mattered, and if Katrina as a benchmark is never mentioned, it probably doesn't have to be. Highlights include a pair of wonderfully loose and joyous second-line pieces from Dejan's Olympia Brass Band ("It Ain't My Fault" and "Wade in the Water"), Irma Thomas' elegant "Ruler of My Heart," and Beau Jocque's odd rockin' zydeco version of "I'm a Girl Watcher." Made especially poignant by the fallout from Katrina, this little sampler is made powerfully compelling by the sheer joy and hope for the future sketched out in these tracks. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 096094510426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)