Collectables Records

The Crests For Collectors Only (2-CD)

For Collectors Only (2-CD)
35% OFF
Rating 4.9
11 ratings
List Price: $25.97
SALE PRICE: $16.98
You Save: $8.99 (35% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  COL 8812
on most orders of $35
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

2016 Memorial Day Sale

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Johnny Maestro (later the leader of The Brooklyn Bridge) first came to fame as the lead singer of the group The Crests. The group's beginnings are music legend - they were discovered singing in a subway car by a mysterious woman who gave them the business card of Al Browne, the orchestra leader who gave them their first big break. This 2-CD set features the best of The Crests' work done originally for Coed records, songs like "16 Candles" sound as strong today as when first recorded.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.16 Candles
  • Buy for $0.992.Angels Listened In, The (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.993.Molly Mae (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.994.Trouble In Paradise
  • Buy for $0.995.Way You Look Tonight
  • Buy for $0.996.Flower Of Love (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.997.Pretty Litlle Angel
  • Buy for $0.998.I Do (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.999.Let Me Be The One (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.My Special Angel
  • Buy for $0.9911.Step By Step
  • Buy for $0.9912.Gee But I'd Give The World
  • Buy for $0.9913.Learning About Love (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Journey Of Love
  • Buy for $0.9915.I.O.U.
  • Buy for $0.9916.Paper Crown
  • Buy for $0.9917.Young Love (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9918.I Thank The Moon
  • Buy for $0.9919.Always You
  • Buy for $0.9920.Mister Happiness

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.The Angels Listened In
  • Buy for $0.992.Silhouettes
  • Buy for $0.993.Model Girl
  • Buy for $0.994.The Test Of Love
  • Buy for $0.995.Isn't It Amazing
  • Buy for $0.996.Beside You
  • Buy for $0.997.Keep Away From Carol (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.998.You Took The Joy Out Of Spring (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.999.Six Nights A Week
  • Buy for $0.9910.Step By Step (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9911.What A Surprise
  • Buy for $0.9912.It Must Be Love (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Out In The Cold Again (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.If My Heart Could Write A Letter
  • Buy for $0.9915.In The Still Of The Night (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9916.A Year Ago Tonight
  • Buy for $0.9917.Earth Angel
  • Buy for $0.9918.Strange Love (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9919.A Rose And A Baby Ruth
  • Buy for $0.9920.Let True Love Begin (Previously Unreleased)

Product Description:

The Crests: Johnny Maestro, Jay "J.T." Carter, Harold Torres, Talmage "Tommy" Gough.
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
A 40-song overview of the Crests, one of R&B's first integrated groups (lead vocalist Johnny Maestro is white). Though racially mixed, listeners were never conscious of that when listening to their music because Maestro's feel for doo wop was genuine. His leads were as extraordinary as any in the business. Not an original member, Maestro joined when they debuted on Joyce Records in 1957 as a quintet with Patricia Vandross (Luther Vandross' older sister); Vandross left before the Coed recordings, reducing the Crests to quartet. Prior to the Crests, Maestro sang with Tony Orlando in another integrated group. The 40 tracks are almost a complete discography of their glory years on Coed Records from 1958 to 1961, and the tunes aren't in chronological order. Their most noted singles -- "16 Candles," "Six Nights a Week," and "The Angels Listened In" -- are here, along with stimulating remakes like "Earth Angel" and "I Remember (In the Still of the Night)." Their final Coed recording is missing, which makes the "for collectors only" tag dubious. (Nothing before the Joyce sides or after Coed made this collection either.) Maestro left after Coed, but some members regrouped and recorded on Selma and Trans Atlantic Records. Maestro failed as a solo artist and as Johnny Maestro & the Crests on Parkway Records with the Tymes backing him, before happier times with Brooklyn Bridge. ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 11 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 5.0 Tremendous collection Music Lover: from SPRINGFIELD, NJ US -- December, 30, 2012

There are many wonderful songs on THIS compilation that you won`t find on the other available entrees.For example, Johnny`s version of "Earth Angel" is excellent and a close 2nd to the Penguins legendary original.His version of "My Special Angel" may be his most beautiful performance, ever, (even better than his later Brooklyn Bridge ballads).There are also a few surprise gems on here such as the little known"Flower of Love","IOU" and a rousing version of "Silhouettes".Despite the absence of their early release "No one to love", this is the most complete collection you'll find of Johnny Maestro and the Crests.

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Crests

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 4,064
  • UPC: 090431881224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Related products:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm