The Flamingos For Collectors Only (2-CD)

For Collectors Only (2-CD)
14 ratings
SALE: $9.98
List Price: $25.97
You Save: $15.99 (62% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 8803
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Flamingos had many hits on both the R&B and Pop charts in the '50s after paying their dues in the Chicago music scene. This disc is a marvelous collection of the group's early work, many of which were regional hits.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Only Have Eyes For You
  • 2.I'll Be Home (Previously Unreleased)
  • 3.Ko Ko Mo
  • 4.Mio Amore
  • 5.My Foolish Heart
  • 6.Nobody Loves Me Like You
  • 7.Love Walked In
  • 8.Lovers Never Say Goodbye
  • 9.That's Why I Love You
  • 10.Your Other Love
  • 11.I Was Such A Fool
  • 12.My Memories Of You
  • 13.A Kiss From Your Lips (Previously Unreleased)
  • 14.Jump Children
  • 15.Time Was
  • 16.You & Me & The Sea
  • 17.Maria Elena
  • 18.I Want To Love You
  • 19.Beside You
  • 20.I'm In The Mood For Love
  • 21.Bridge Of Tears
  • 22.I Shed A Tear At Your Wedding

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Music Maestro Please
  • 2.It's Too Soon To Know
  • 3.Besame Mucho
  • 4.At Night
  • 5.Everybody's Got A Home But Me
  • 6.Lovers Never Say Goodbye (Unreleased Demo)
  • 7.For All We Know
  • 8.Lovers Gotta Cry
  • 9.Crazy Crazy Crazy
  • 10.That Love Is You
  • 11.Dream Girl
  • 12.Tell Me How Long
  • 13.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 14.When I Fall In Love
  • 15.But Not For Me
  • 16.Sweet & Lovely
  • 17.Heavenly Angel
  • 18.At The Prom
  • 19.Ol' Man River
  • 20.Goodnight Sweetheart

Product Description:

This collection contains 2 previously unreleased tracks.
Liner Note Author: Carl Tancredi.
Unknown Contributor Role: The Flamingos .
The title on this two-CD set is more than a little unfair -- in fact, it's downright inaccurate. For Collectors Only is one of the more impressive collections of material by this celebrated R&B vocal group, consisting entirely of songs cut for George Goldner's Gone Records, which was their most successful commercial period and arguably represents the group's best years. The 42 songs here include three tracks ("I'll Be Home," "A Kiss from Your Lips," "Lovers Never Say Goodbye") which are either previously unissued outtakes or previously unreleased altogether, and they're icing on the cake. This collection's real virtue is its assembly of the previously issued numbers; the highlights are, of course, the group's treatment of ballad standards such as "I Only Have Eyes for You," "My Foolish Heart," and "Love Walked In," but this set also includes unusual parts of their repertory, like the riveting, fast-paced Gone Records version of "Jump Children" (to which they were seen miming brilliantly, in a stunning performance clip, in the 1959 movie Go Johnny Go). Its presence, along with the outtakes, makes this double disc preferable to Rhino's The Best of the Flamingos, and essential listening for anyone who owns MCA's compilation of the group's Chess recordings. The annotation is especially frustrating, however -- it consists of a reprinted interview with two of the group's original members discussing their days with Chance Records, which considerably predates any of the songs here. The sound is acceptable if unexceptional, and has been outstripped by the audio quality on West Side's 1998 two-LP-on-one-CD reissues of the Flamingos' albums. ~ Bruce Eder
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 14 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
RE: Ive listened to a lot of music in 60 years... Music Lover: from Southern Utah -- March, 25, 2007

Ive listened to a lot of music in my 60 years. But for me, The Flamingos will always be...The Closest Thing To Heaven.

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Flamingos

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,482
  • UPC: 090431880326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Oldies: Doowop Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)