The Chantels For Collectors Only (2-CD)

For Collectors Only (2-CD)
10 ratings
SALE: $16.98
List Price: $25.97
You Save: $8.99 (35% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 8802
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Chantels were formed in high school, and the all-girl group took their name from that of a rival school. The group was soon the first nationally successful female R&B groups and scored many times on the Pop and R&B charts. Along with their greatest hits, this 2-disc set features many alternate takes and previously unreleased performances for a total of 40 great sounding tracks. Includes "Maybe" and "Look In My Eyes"

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Maybe
  • 2.If You Try (Alternate Take)
  • 3.Prayee
  • 4.So Real (Previously Unreleased)
  • 5.Plea
  • 6.I Can't Take It (There's Our Song Again)
  • 7.Look In My Eyes
  • 8.Every Night (Alternate Take)
  • 9.I'm Confessing
  • 10.Whoever You Are
  • 11.Goodbye To Love (Alternate Take)
  • 12.He's Gone
  • 13.Every Night
  • 14.Sure Of Love
  • 15.Congratulations
  • 16.I'm The Girl (Alternate Take)
  • 17.I'll Walk Alone
  • 18.Memories Of You (Alternate Take)
  • 19.Come My Little Baby
  • 20.I Love You So

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.How Could You Call It Off (Alternate Take)
  • 2.My Darling
  • 3.Prayee (Alternate Take)
  • 4.If You Try
  • 5.Goodybye To Love
  • 6.Never Let Go
  • 7.To Live My Life Again (Featuring Arlene Smith)
  • 8.C'est Si Bon
  • 9.Ific
  • 10.How Could You Call It Off
  • 11.Mon Cherie Au Revoir (Featuring Arlene Smith)
  • 12.Two Loving Hearts
  • 13.I've Lied (Featuring Willie & Arlene)
  • 14.All Is Forgiven (Featuring Richard Barrett)
  • 15.Is It Because (Featuring Ronnie Baxter)
  • 16.Summer's Love (Featuring Richard Barrett)
  • 17.Come Softly To Me (Featuring Richard Barrett)
  • 18.Maybe (Alternate Take)
  • 19.Peruvian Wedding Song (Previously Unreleased)
  • 20.I've Lied (With Tunemasters, Alternate Take)

Product Description:

The Chantels include: Arlene Smith, Sonia Goring, Rene Minus, Jackie Landry, Lois Harris (vocals).
Includes liner notes by Philip Groia.
Liner Note Author: Phil Groia.
Unknown Contributor Role: The Chantels.
For a group that only had one really big hit--the epochal doo-wop ballad "Maybe"--the Chantels were nonetheless a pretty influential outfit. They inspired countless girl groups in their wake, notably the Shirelles, and also featured a few production tricks later appropriated by Phil Spector for his famed Wall Of Sound.
This set collects all of the group's best known songs, including the sublime "Maybe" follow-up "Payee," and adds various alternate takes and unreleased tracks, including a few where the group backs its great producer Richard Barrett, notably on a lovely cover of the Fleetwoods' "Come Softly to Me." Most intriguing track: an alternate version of "Maybe," featuring studio chatter and a truly bizarre organ part wisely eliminated from the final arrangement.
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Chantels

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,820
  • UPC: 090431880227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Oldies: Doowop Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)