Essential Hip Hop (3-CD)
by Various Artists

Essential Hip Hop (3-CD)
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  EYCE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: May 2, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Warlock Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Needle to the Groove - Mantronix
  • 2.Lyrical King - T La Rock
  • 3.Johnny the Fox - Tricky Tee
  • 4.LaToya - Just-Ice
  • 5.Ugly People Be Quiet - Cash Money & Marvelous
  • 6.I've Got It Good - Tricky Tee
  • 7.Cold Getting Dumb - Just-Ice
  • 8.Strictly Business - EPMD
  • 9.Moshitup - Just-Ice
  • 10.No Delayin - Nice & Smooth
  • 11.Back to Burn - T La Rock
  • 12.Fresh Is the Word - Mantronix
  • 13.It's Yours - T La Rock
  • 14.We Control the Dance - Mantronix
  • 15.Freak the Funk - Stezo

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Heartbeat Rap, A - Sweet G
  • 2.Games People Play - Sweet G
  • 3.Games Females Play - Gigolette
  • 4.Starski Live at the Disco Fever - Lovebug
  • 5.You've Gotta Believe - Lovebug
  • 6.Bust This Rhyme - MC Chill
  • 7.Gucciman, The - MC Holiday
  • 8.Me & You (Getting It On) - Gucciman
  • 9.MC Story - MC Chill
  • 10.Calm Down - III Most Wanted
  • 11.Nitty Gritty - III Most Wanted
  • 12.All Night Long - Nayobe
  • 13.Sukiyaki - The Cover Girls
  • 14.I Am Woman - The Cover Girls
  • 15.Starski Live at the Disco Fever - Lovebug
  • 16.Games People Play - Sweet G

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Party Train - The Gap Band
  • 2.Give It to Me Baby - Rick James
  • 3.Let It Whip - Dazz Band
  • 4.Planet Rock - Afrika Bambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force
  • 5.Dream Team Is in the House, The - L.A. Dream Team
  • 6.Message, The - Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
  • 7.Hey DJ - World Famous Supreme Team
  • 8.Al Naayfish (The Soul) - Hashim
  • 9.Jam on It - Newcleus
  • 10.I Need a Freak - Sexual Harassment
  • 11.Joy & Pain - Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock
  • 12.White Lines (Don't Do It) - Grandmaster Flash & Melle Mel

Product Description:

Audio Mixers: Larry Smith ; Sam Jacobs; Tony "A.D." Perez; Jellybean; Kevin Perez; Kurtis Blow; Andrew Milano; Rich Keller.
Liner Note Author: Carol Cooper.
Arrangers: Larry Smith ; Kurtis Blow; Russell Simmons.
While there is little rhyme or reason to this set -- not all of it is essential, and not all of it is hip-hop -- Warlock's three-disc Essential Hip Hop provides too much fun to dismiss. Flipping through funk, electro, old-school rap, and even the late-'80s/early-'90s era, the set features L.A. Dream Team's "The Dream Team Is in the House," Sexual Harassment's "I Need a Freak," and Rick James' "Give It to Me Baby," as well as Stezo's "Freak the Funk," EPMD's "Strictly Business," Lovebug Starski's "Starski Live at the Disco Fever" (vocal and instrumental), and Mantronix's "Needle to the Groove." Not the place to begin for newcomers to hip-hop, but it certainly holds enough variety and quality content to plug quite a few gaps in one's collection. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,947
  • UPC: 026656295522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.63/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)