Allen Toussaint Connected

4 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  RDE3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Nyno


  • Buy for $0.991.Pure Uncut Love
  • Buy for $0.992.Do the Do
  • Buy for $0.993.Computer Lady
  • Buy for $0.994.Get Out of My Life Woman
  • Buy for $0.995.We're All Connected
  • Buy for $0.996.Sweet Dreams
  • Buy for $0.997.Funky Bars
  • Buy for $0.998.Ahya
  • Buy for $0.999.If I Leave
  • Buy for $0.9910.Aign Nyee
  • Buy for $0.9911.In Your Love
  • Buy for $0.9912.Oh My
  • Buy for $0.9913.All of It
  • Buy for $0.9914.Wrong Number
  • Buy for $0.9915.Rolling With the Punches

Product Description:

Personnel: Allen Toussaint (vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes, synthesizer, percussion); Tricia Boutte (vocals); Scott Goudeau, Leo Nocentelli (guitar); Gary Brown (alto & tenor saxophones); Amadee Castenell, Fred Kemp (tenor saxophone); Brian Cayolle, Edward Reed (baritone saxophone); Jamil Sharif (trumpet, flugelhorn); Stacy Cole, Dave Bartholomew (trumpet); Sammy Berfect (organ); J.R. Branch (synthesizer); Chris Severin, Roland Guerin (bass); Bernard "Bunchy" Johnson, Russell Batiste, Herman Lebeaux (drums); Bill Summers, Clarence "Reginald" Toussaint (percussion); Suzanne Bonseigneur, Ed Roussell, Tomika Goffner, Tanya Ellsworth, Terri De Gruy, The Apostolic Outreach Choir (background vocals).
Producers: Allen Toussaint, Clarence "Reginald" Toussaint.
Engineers: Clarence "Reginald" Toussaint, J.R. Branch.
Recorded at Sea-Saint Recording Studio, New Orleans, Louisiana between March 7, 1994 and March 28, 1996.
Personnel: Allen Toussaint (vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, synthesizer, percussion); Scott Goodeau, Scott Goudeau, Leo Nocentelli (guitar); Jamil Sharif (flageolet, trumpet, flugelhorn); Gary Brown (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Fred Kemp, Amadee Castenell, Jr. (tenor saxophone); Eddie Reed (baritone saxophone); Dave Bartholomew, Stacy Cole (trumpet); Sammy Berfect (organ); J.R. Branch (synthesizer); Russell Batiste, Herman Lebeaux, Bernard "Bunchy" Johnson (drums); Clarence Reggie Toussaint, Bill Summers (percussion); Suzanne Bonseigneur, Tomika Goffner, Terri de Gruy (background vocals).
Recording information: Sea-Saint Recording Studios, New Orleans, LA (03/07/1994-03/28/1996).
Photographer: Joanne Savio.
Allen Toussaint's name became synonymous with New Orleans music, even though he didn't seem to "do" the records his name was on as producer, arranger, or writer on records by artists such as Ernie K-Doe or Irma Thomas. This is his first studio album in at least a decade, and it is a very worthy effort of all self-penned songs that seem to be a mix of old and new (if not in age, at least in feel). He is supported by an extremely worthy cast of the finest New Orleans musicians. Funky material like "Funky Bars," "Ahya," and the rolling gait of "Oh My" stands next to much softer pieces that require a more versatile voice. There are times when his voice doesn't have that reaching pain, for instance, that Aaron Neville gave to "Wrong Number." On most cuts, his easy delivery is just what is called for, and his rollicking piano is always perfectly matched to the song. This is not a disc of memories, though it may bring up a few, it is fresh new funk and roll from the city where American music has always stretched to new levels. ~ Bob Gottlieb

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Allen Toussaint

Product Info

  • UPC: 603343960125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)