Soul II Soul Club Classics, Volume One, 10th Anniversary Edition

Club Classics, Volume One, 10th Anniversary
11 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  W22V
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 18, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Virgin Records Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 6/00, p.70
Ranked #49 in Q's "100 Greatest British Albums" - "...A good UK soul record....Melding reggae, hip hop and soul, CLUB CLASSICS unveiled that since-oft-imitated laid-back bassline, strewn with sweeping strings, flutes, and melodic vocals..."
Muzik - 6/99, p.85
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...The singles...remain their lasting testament - a statement of British black musical intent that is now bearing fruit everywhere....Club classics indeed."


  • 1.Keep on Movin' - (featuring Caron Wheeler)
  • 2.Fairplay - (featuring Rose Windross)
  • 3.Holdin' on (Bambelela)
  • 4.Feeling Free - (live)
  • 5.African Dance
  • 6.Dance
  • 7.Feel Free - (featuring Do 'Reen)
  • 8.Happiness - (dub)
  • 9.Back to Life - (a capella, featuring Caron Wheeler)
  • 10.Jazzie's Groove
  • 11.Ambition - (rap)
  • 12.Keep on Movin' - (Big Beat a capella)
  • 13.Back to Life (However Do You Want Me)
  • 14.Jazzie's Groove - (piano version)
  • 15.Back to Life (However Do You Want Me) - (One World remix)
  • 16.Keep on Movin' - (M Beat Bonus mix)

Product Description:

Originally released in the U.S. as KEEP ON MOVIN'. The 10th Anniversary Edition contains six remixes previously unreleased on CD.
Personnel: Shikisha, Carol Wheeler, Rose Windross (vocals); Jazzie B. (rap vocals); Kushite (flute); Simon "The Funky Ginger" Law (piano, keyboards); Crispin (percussion); Aitch B. (background vocals).
Where previous British translations of classic US black music styles had been hit and miss affairs, Jazzie B revolutionised contemporary soul music on both sides of the channel with the sublime (and occasionally ridiculous) Club Classics. Caron Wheeler's emotive performance on the opening track, 'Keep On Movin'' (the album's title in the US) set the tone of the album. It's not flawless - Jazzie B, genius producer and all-round music man, may be many things, but a rapper he is not. And a second great single, 'Back To Life', is included here only in 'a cappella' form. When Jazzie and Nellee Hooper's ideas and musical instincts coalesce the results boast a feel-good factor and warmth absent from recent soul music.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Soul II Soul

Product Info

  • UPC: 724384747022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)