Jill Scott The Real Thing Words And Sounds, Volume 3

The Real Thing Words And Sounds, Volume 3
283 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  35CRX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Hidden Beach

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.78
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Scott's music is more about groove and mood than song. But more than Maxwell or D'Angelo, she cares about words..."
Vibe - p.98
"Something's different about Jill Scott. There's a little more sass in her swagger, a lot more grit in her soul..."
Q (Magazine) - p.110
3 stars out of 5 -- "Jill Scott is fast becoming the voice of literate, female soul....It's a bedroom album, albeit an intelligent, challenging one."
The Word (magazine) (p.102) - "Overall, tastefulness, musical smarts and confidence mixed with intelligence make this a fine addition to Scott's already splendid canon of stuff."


  • Buy for $0.991.Let It Be
  • Buy for $0.992.The Real Thing
  • Buy for $0.993.Hate on Me
  • Buy for $0.994.Come See Me
  • Buy for $0.995.Crown Royal
  • Buy for $0.996.Epiphany
  • Buy for $0.997.My Love
  • Buy for $0.998.Insomnia
  • Buy for $0.999.How It Make You Feel
  • Buy for $0.9910.Only You
  • Buy for $0.9911.Whenever You're Around
  • Buy for $0.9912.Celibacy Blues
  • Buy for $0.9913.All I
  • Buy for $0.9914.Wanna Be Loved
  • Buy for $0.9915.Breathe

Product Description:

Composer: Jamar Jones.
Personnel: Jarius Mozee, Dennis Brown, Kevin Hanson , Randy Bowland (guitar); Jason Freeman (strings, Fender Rhodes piano); Matt Jeff Bradshaw (trombone); J.R. Hutson (Fender Rhodes piano, drums); Omari Shabazz (keyboards, background vocals); George Duke (synthesizer); Adam Blackstone (upright bass, programming, background vocals); Kevin Jeeter, George "Spanky" McCurdy (drums); Paulinho Da Costa, Kevin Ricard (percussion); Shafiq Husayn (programming, background vocals); Jesse Owenz (drum programming); Chinah Blac, Om'Mas Keith (background vocals).
Additional personnel: George Duke.
Audio Mixers: Jaycen Joshua; Kevin "KD" Davis; Vincent Dilorenzo; Dave Pensado; Jason Goldstein; Randy Battiste; Jon Smeltz; Serban Ghenea; Om'Mas Keith.
Liner Note Author: Steve McKeever.
Recording information: Bazz Studio; Currie House Studios, Maplewood, MN; Glenwood Place Studios, Glendale, CA; Headquarters Studio, Philadelphia, PA; Keswick Studios, Reseda, CA; Kush Studio, Miami Beach, FL; Sigma Sound Studios, Philadelphia, PA; Studio 609, Philadelphia, PA; Studio Atlantis, Hollywood, CA; The Cosmic Dust Recorders, Los Angeles, CA; The House That Quest Built; The Studio, Philadelphia, PA.
Photographer: Marc Baptiste.
Arrangers: Om'Mas Keith; Shafiq Husayn.
Neo-soul diva Jill Scott is big on collaborations, and 2007's REAL THING: WORDS AND SOUNDS VOL. 3 is no exception. Leroy Hutson, for example, co-wrote four of the tracks here, while Adam Blackstone, Andre Harris, and Vidal Davis also pitch in on songwriting duties. But this is still Scott's show, a fact verified by her powerful, often smoldering vocal performances on every track of the album.
For the most part, REAL THING is an album for lovers. "Come and See Me," for example, one of the album's highlights, is a slinky, silky ballad in which Scott breathes gorgeous yearning into the listener's ear. "Only You" is a smooth, head-nodding track that has the buoyancy of bed springs. Romantic, seductive, and executed with finesse, REAL THING reminds listeners that Scott is still holding her own in the neo-soul game.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 283 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jill Scott

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,536
  • UPC: 894096001320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)