Doc Powell Cool Like That

Cool Like That
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $13 (68% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HUP 3091
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: July 27, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Heads Up


  • 1.Push
  • 2.Cool Like That
  • 3.Listen Up
  • 4.Sweet G
  • 5.Soul Crazy Out
  • 6.Let It Be - (instrumental)
  • 7.You Mean More to Me - (with Gary Taylor)
  • 8.Hatu Jambo
  • 9.To the East
  • 10.Let It Be - (with T.C. Bereal)
  • 11.More to Me

Product Description:

Personnel: Doc Powell (guitar, classical guitar); Gary Taylor, T.C. Bereal (vocals); Ron Brown (bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Kirk Whalum, Michael Lington (tenor saxophone); Kevin Toney (piano); Michael Bereal (Fender Rhodes piano, Wurlitzer piano); Reggie Hamilton (Moog synthesizer, acoustic bass guitar); Freddie Flewellen (bass guitar); Munyungo Jackson (percussion).
The veteran R&B sideman and popular smooth jazz guitarist usually lets his listeners know the vibe based on his album titles, from the Grover Washington, Jr.-influenced blues-soul of Inner City Blues to his most popular, Laid Back. On his critically acclaimed Heads Up debut, 97th and Columbus, the native New Yorker -- who titled the disc after the location of the classic Manhattan club Mikell's, where he did some serious shedding in the '80s -- paid homage to his eclectic roots, fashioning a tribute to, among others, chief influences Wes Montgomery, George Benson, Chet Atkins, and Ramsey Lewis. Focusing on touches of hip-hop, old-school soul, and slick in-the-pocket grooves, Cool Like That blends elements of his past successes with a love for classic rock (via a modern twist on the Beatles' "Let It Be"), a taste of East Coast jazz fusion ("To the East"), and a spiritual and densely percussive, African-tinged journey with lyrics in the Kenyan language ("Hatujambo"). He always surrounds himself with the best on the L.A. studio scene -- this time, that roster includes saxmen Michael Lington and Ron Brown, keyboardist Kevin Toney, trumpeter Mark Ledford, bassist Reggie Hamilton, and percussionist Munyungo Jackson. Also appearing on the opening track, "Push," is longtime pal Kirk Whalum. ~ Jonathan Widran

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Doc Powell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 40,365
  • UPC: 053361309121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.15/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Jazz genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)