Ludwig Van Beethoven Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5, 'Emperor' /Piano Sonata No. 28 in A

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5, 'Emperor' /Piano
17 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  35V4W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon


  • 1.1. Allegro
  • Buy for $1.292.2. Adagio Un Poco Mosso
  • 3.3. Rondo (Allegro)
  • Buy for $1.294.1. Etwas Lebhaft Und Mit Der Innigsten Empfindung (Allegretto Ma Non Troppo)
  • Buy for $1.295.2. Lebhaft, Marschmassig (Vivace Alla Marcia)
  • Buy for $1.296.3. Langsam Und Sehnsuchtsvoll (Adagio Ma Non Troppo, Con Affetto)
  • Buy for $1.297.4. Geschwind, Doch Nicht Zu Sehr Und Mit Entschlossenheit (Allegro)

Product Description:

This is the stuff from which magic is made: Ludwig van Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 73--known as the "Emperor" Concerto, heroic and powerful--performed by one of our most distinctive pianists, Hélène Grimaud. The excellent Staatskapelle Dresden is led by one of today's young stars on the podium, Vladimir Jurowski, a charismatic musical genius who was recently appointed London Philharmonic Orchestra's principal conductor. The chemistry between these musicians has the potential to create an extraordinary musical experience. On this album, the Concerto is coupled with a piano sonata out of Beethoven's late compositional phase where--noticeable in the slow movement of the concerto as well--the composer's concern for lyricism had deepened. Thus intimacy and delicacy are the features in the beautiful Piano Sonata No. 28, Op. 101 chosen by Grimaud. This project proves the modernity of Beethoven, firstly by the passionate interpretation of Grimaud and secondly by her being such an excellent communicator of her intentions and perceptions: "What makes Beethoven an extremely modern composer is this extreme vitality, the desire to never give up, and also this foreverendearing, extremely touching characteristic of the music to always strive to ascend, to really get beyond the frailties and the failures of the human condition by always looking up and trying to reconcile the top and the bottom, the vertical and the horizontal. That is still the struggle of people today--this is what makes Beethoven so timeless."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Ludwig Van Beethoven

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 109,355
  • UPC: 028947765950
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm