G. Mahler Mahler: Symphony No. 3

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.6
11 ratings
List Price: $25.98
Your Price: $23.38
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  DEGR 471502

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 11, 2002
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Kraftig. Entschieden: Kraftig. Entschieden
  • 2.Kraftig. Entschieden: Immer das gleiche Tempo
  • 3.Kraftig. Entschieden: Tempo I
  • 4.Kraftig. Entschieden: Zeit lassen
  • 5.Kraftig. Entschieden: Zeit lassen
  • 6.Kraftig. Entschieden: Immer dasselbe Tempo (Marsch)
  • 7.Kraftig. Entschieden: Im alten Marschtempo (Allegro moderato): 3
  • 8.Kraftig. Entschieden: Tempo I

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tempo di Menuetto. Sehr maBig: Tempo di Menuetto. Sehr maBig
  • 2.Tempo di Menuetto. Sehr maBig: L'istesso tempo
  • 3.Tempo di Menuetto. Sehr maBig: A tempo (Wie im Anfang)
  • 4.Tempo di Menuetto. Sehr maBig: Ganz plotzlich gemachlich. Tempo di
  • 5.Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast: Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast
  • 6.Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast: Wider sehr gemachlich, wie zu Anfang
  • 7.Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast: Etwas zuruckhaltend: 6 Takte
  • 8.Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast: Tempo I: 2 Takte vor
  • 9.Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast: Wieder sehr gemachlich, beinahe
  • 10.Sehr langsam. Misterioso. Durchaus ppp: Sehr langsam. Misterioso.
  • 11.Sehr langsam. Misterioso. Durchaus ppp: Piu mosso subito: 6 Takte
  • 12.Lustig im Tempo und keck im Ausdruck: "Bimm bamm! Es sungen drei
  • 13.Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden: Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden
  • 14.Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden: Nicht mehr so breit
  • 15.Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden: Tempo I. Ruhevoll
  • 16.Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden: Nicht mehr so breit
  • 17.Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden: Tempo I
  • 18.Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden: Langsam. Tempo
  • 19.Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden: Applause / Beifall

Product Description:

This live Third, taped by the BBC during a visit by the Berlin Philharmonic in 1999, is a welcome addition to the growing list of outstanding Mahler Thirds on CD, Bernstein's "hot" version and Gielen's cooler one, among them. Abbado's new one is superior to his first go at the symphony, thanks to superb orchestral playing and a ripening of his interpretation of the work. He makes it sound as wildly revolutionary as it must have been to the audience at the premiere. Abbado now adds extra intensity, crisper articulation that makes the rhythms more dynamic even at his relatively slow tempos (as in the massive first movement march) and heightens the hushed tension in the long final movement, taken slightly faster and the better for it. The Berlin Philharmonic's playing is all the more impressive for being "live." The brazen brass, alert winds, and dense, biting strings outdo themselves, and the active percussion section supplies plenty of excitement. Alto Anna Larsson, who's also on the Salonen Mahler Third, is fine, as is the chorus. The engineering is strange, though. The low-level transfer needs a big volume boost and even then it's hard to find a volume setting that can accommodate quiet passages without blasting the roof off at climaxes. --Dan Davis

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for G. Mahler

Product Info:

  • UPC: 028947150220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items