Javier Javier

127 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GRWC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 5, 2003
  • Label: Capitol


  • 1.Crazy
  • 2.Beautiful U R
  • 3.Song For Your Tears
  • 4.Slow Motion
  • 5.Hey Little Sister
  • 6.Biggest Mistake
  • 7.Interlude #1
  • 8.If I Never Get to Heaven
  • 9.Can't Have My Heart
  • 10.She Spoke to Me
  • 11.In Your Hands
  • 12.She'll Never Know
  • 13.Interlude #2
  • 14.October Sky

Product Description:

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Personnel: Javier (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano); Carl Sturken (guitar, keyboards); Terry Wollman (acoustic guitar); Dean Parks, Evan Rogers, Michael Thompson (guitar); Larry Campbell (pedal steel guitar); Roy Hargrove (trumpet); Mulgrew Miller, Roni Skies (piano); Omar Edwards (Hammond B-3 organ); Kevin Cloud (synthesizer, programming); Nathan East, Michael Elizondo, Peter Washington (bass); Karriem Riggins (drums, programming); Ahmir ?uestlove (drums); Charles Crawford (vinyl scrathces); Evan Rogers, Harvey Mason, Jr. (background vocals).
Producers include: Evan Rogers, Carl Sturken, The Underdogs, Kevin Cloud, Javier.
Javier's self-titled debut disc is a smoothly executed, spare-no-expense foray through old-school R&B, helmed by a variety of veteran producers including the Underdogs (B2K, Brandy) and the team that brought you Christina Aguilera and Britney Spears, among other contemporary pop icons. But don't be fooled by the upscale company he keeps--Javier has an extensive store of influences from which to draw.
Elements of '70s icons like Stevie Wonder, Bill Withers, and Donny Hathaway appear in the ornately romantic "Song For Your Tears" and the album's jazzy extended finale, "October Sky," which features a couple of jazz legends in noted pianist Mulgrew Miller and trumpeter Roy Hargrove (the latter no stranger to this kind of jazz/R&B crossover). It's obvious that Javier's roots run deep. But though this album is an open display of where the singer is coming from, it's clear both from his confidence in his choice of material and his subtle execution of these songs that his start as frontman for the Derek Trucks band is long behind him. He's found his true musical calling.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 127 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353984304
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)