Willie Hightower Willie Hightower

Willie Hightower
5 ratings
Price: $26.09
List Price: $26.98
You Save: $0.89 (3% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  D29K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 9, 2004
  • Label: EMI Import

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - No. 969, pp.116-7
4 stars out of 5 - "[An] excellent collection of eighteen Southern-soul tracks from the singer's first bloom in the Sixties..."
Uncut - p.143
4 stars out of 5 - "Alabama-born Hightower's '60s recordings reveal a voice full of sandpapery grit, as comfortable with trauma as with tweeness."


  • 1.Walk a Mile in My Shoes
  • 2.Back Road into Town
  • 3.If I Had a Hammer
  • 4.Nobody But You
  • 5.You Used Me Baby
  • 6.Time Has Brought About a Change
  • 7.It's Too Late
  • 8.(Take My Hand) Let's Walk Together
  • 9.Poor Man
  • 10.I Can't Love Without You
  • 11.I Love You (Yes I Do)
  • 12.It's Wonderful to Be in Love with You
  • 13.Ooh Baby How I Love You
  • 14.Somebody Have Mercy
  • 15.Because I Love You
  • 16.You Are Mine
  • 17.It's a Miracle
  • 18.(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons / You Send Me

Product Description:

Maybe it's na‹ve to be surprised at the fact that a soul singer of Willie Hightower's incredible gifts could remain so obscure. After all, if there's one thing the music business has demonstrated in the last 50 years, it's a quick willingness to suck the last drop of blood from the bodies of its best soul artists and then toss them scornfully aside. Still, though. To hear Hightower roar through Joe South's "Walk a Mile in My Shoes" is to hear the sound of musical revelation -- this is what South's hit version should have been. Same goes for Hightower's rendition of O.B. McClinton's "Back Road into Town" (listen to that horn arrangement and those subtly applied strings) and his respectful but confident take on "Somebody Have Mercy," a Sam Cooke number that manages to showcase both Hightower's obvious vocal debt to the great man and his undeniable individuality. Nor are his originals anything to sneeze at -- note in particular the slowly simmering and powerfully emotive "Time Has Brought About a Change." There is hardly a bum track anywhere on this collection, which includes most of the program from his one album and several of his singles as well, all of them recorded in the late '60s. Essential. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Willie Hightower

Product Info

  • UPC: 724386342928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)