The Clovers A Proper Introduction to the Clovers: Ting-A-Ling

A Proper Introduction to the Clovers: Ting-A-Ling
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  D78K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 29, 2004
  • Label: Proper Introduction


  • 1.Yes Sir That's My Baby
  • 2.When You Come Back to Me
  • 3.Don't You Know I Love You
  • 4.Skylark
  • 5.Needless
  • 6.Fool Fool Fool
  • 7.One Mint Julep
  • 8.Middle of the Night
  • 9.Ting a Ling
  • 10.Wonder Where My Baby's Gone
  • 11.I Played the Fool
  • 12.Hey Miss Fannie
  • 13.Yes It's You
  • 14.Crawlin'
  • 15.Here Goes a Fool
  • 16.Good Lovin'
  • 17.Comin' On
  • 18.Feeling Is So Good

Product Description:

TING-A-LING is an 18-track digitally-remastered release by vocal group The Clovers, featuring "Yes Sir That's My Baby," "One Mint Julep," and "Needless," and includes an eight-page booklet.
Personnel: John "Buddy" Bailey (vocals); McHouston "Mickey" Baker (guitar); Sam "The Man" Taylor , Willis "Gator" Jackson (tenor saxophone); Lloyd Trotman (baritone saxophone); Randy Weston (piano); Art Blakey (drums).
Liner Note Author: Adam Komorowski.
Recording information: Apex Recording Studio, New York, NY; Atlantic Recording Studio, New York, NY; Rainbow Studio, New York, NY; WHOM Studio, New York, NY.
The Clovers were sort of a transition group straddling the smooth pop style of the Ink Spots and the Platters and later more rock & roll-oriented groups like the Coasters and the Drifters. Beginning with 1951's "Don't You Know I Love You," the group merged urban blues sensibilities with a touch of gospel to create the template for what would eventually become known as soul. This collection has some of their biggest hits like "One Mint Julep" and "Ting-A-Ling," but lacks too many others ("Lovey Dovey," "Your Cash Ain't Nothin' But Trash," and their 1959 United Artists hit, "Love Potion No. 9") to be more than a cursory introduction to their career. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Clovers

Product Info

  • UPC: 805520060295
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)