John Williams The Guitarist

The Guitarist
19% OFF
Rating 5.0
5 ratings
List Price: $7.98
Sale Price: $7.18
CYBER SALE: $6.46 Limited Time Only
You Save: $1.52 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SNY 90399
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for an e-mail Gift Certificate
Amazon sells this CD for $9.99, buying at saves you 35%
This is the price to buy directly from or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on December 20, 2014. Amazon is a registered trademark of, Inc.

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Sony


  • Buy for $0.991.Epitafios 3
  • Buy for $0.992.Epitafios 4
  • Buy for $0.993.Epitafios 5
  • Buy for $0.994.Koyunbaba Part 1
  • Buy for $0.995.Koyunbaba Part 2
  • Buy for $0.996.Koyunbaba Part 3
  • Buy for $0.997.Koyunbaba Part 4
  • Buy for $0.998.Gymnopedie
  • Buy for $0.999.'Lamento Di Tristan'
  • Buy for $0.9910.'Ductia'
  • Buy for $0.9911.'Saltarello'
  • Buy for $0.9912.Aeolian Suite For Guitar: Aeolian Chant
  • Buy for $0.9913.Aeolian Suite For Guitar: Double Dance
  • Buy for $0.9914.Aeolian Suite For Guitar: Ballad
  • Buy for $0.9915.Aeolian Suite For Guitar: Toccato
  • Buy for $0.9916.Stele: Stele
  • Buy for $0.9917.Stele: Dervish
  • Buy for $0.9918.Stele: Bronze Apollo
  • Buy for $0.9919.Stele: Web
  • Buy for $0.9920.Gnossienne No 1
  • Buy for $0.9921.Gnossienne No 2
  • Buy for $0.9922.Recuerdos De La Alhambra
  • Buy for $0.9923.Mallorca (Barcarola), Op. 202
  • Buy for $0.9924.Catari, Catari

Product Description:

This recording is also available as a mini disc.
This CD includes a multimedia portion.
THE GUITARIST could be described as a record of brooding reflection and pastoral solitude with echoes of ancient Greece a recurrent motif. It also demonstrates that one can plan a wonderfully varied yet coherent guitar recital without recourse to the usual Bach transcriptions and Spanish chestnuts.
No one is better equipped to do this than John Williams. As much an ambassador of the guitar as a player, he puts his commitment to new music for the instrument to good use here, the major dividend being the 'Koyunbaba' of Italian composer Carlo Domeniconi. Inspired by Turkish themes and landscapes, the four-movement suite employs an unusual C sharp minor tuning to haunting, original effect.
The 'Stele' of Australian Phillip Houghton are moody evocations of the Greek coastline and ancient monuments to gods, demons and sailors lost at sea, while the 'Epitafios' of Mikis Theodorakis eulogize the more recently departed with the direct simplicity of folk music. Rounded off with a suite of medieval tunes and a particularly successful arrangement of Satie's third 'Gymnopedie,' THE GUITARIST leads one down a darker, less traveled road full of drama and beauty.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for John Williams

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 72,843
  • UPC: 827969039922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Easy Listening Music Categories: