Bugz In The Attic Fabriclive.12

2 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36AJX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 6, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Fabric


  • 1.Tromboline
  • 2.Got Me Puzzled
  • 3.Bicycle Kick
  • 4.Having Your Fun - (4 Hero Rework mix, 4 Hero Rework)
  • 5.Red
  • 6.Loose Lips
  • 7.Oriental Express
  • 8.Looking for Love - (Bugz in the Attic Remix, Bugz In The Attic remix)
  • 9.Time to Skyank
  • 10.Future Rage
  • 11.Dreams Come True - (Afronaught Mix, Afronaught remix)
  • 12.Strike Hard
  • 13.Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger - (the Neptunes Remix, The Neptunes remix)
  • 14.Call Me - (Re-Edit)

Product Description:

This is a continuous in-the-mix CD compiled and mixed by Bugz In The Attic.
Personnel: Dego , Kaidi Tatham (vocals, keyboards, percussion); DTX, Lyric L, Face (vocals).
Audio Mixers: D. Jones; A. Smith; Brad Somatik; Daz-I-Kue.
Audio Remixer: Afronaught.
Broken beat's detractors -- and there are many, whether they are truly familiar with it or not at all -- view the style as offering a cross between the worst of two worlds: the regressive smugness of acid jazz and the credibility-starved indulgences of "musical" drum'n'bass. You can't really blame them; after all, a small percentage of broken beat happens to fall dead in the middle of those two poles, and it should also be noted that the underground, alias-happy, somewhat faceless nature of the West London-centered scene makes it almost as outsider-friendly as early-'90s Detroit techno. So here's one of the highest-profile broken beat releases yet, provided by the best ambassadors imaginable. They deliver: Fabriclive.12 makes for the most accessible and emblematic release from the scene yet. While largely groove-based, broken beat thrives on complexities -- polyrhythms, clipped beats, uncommon time signatures; many tracks are liable to make you regret the fact that you're not octopedal, though you're rarely made to feel as if you're being challenged to stay on the dancefloor. From a DJ's perspective, stringing together an all-broken beat set is notoriously tricky. Though extended blends are virtually impossible, Bugz in the Attic provides a cunningly sequenced mix and makes the segues as natural and as easy as a stroll through the park. Upbeat and joyous throughout, the crew offsets all the established favorites (Seiji's tongue and leg-twisting "Loose Lips," 4hero's remix of Focus' Fonda Rae-ripping "Having Your Fun," Bugz' own remix of Vikter Duplaix's "Looking for Love") with newer goods (DKD's stunning "Future Rage," Afronaught's unsurprisingly dizzying remix of Alison David's "Dreams," Troubleman's dub-funk hybrid "Strike Hard"), making the whole thing appeal to newcomers and insiders alike. The fact that the Neptunes remix of Daft Punk's "Harder Better Faster Stronger" can slip into the scheme only further demonstrates the contemporary and forward-looking qualities of the tracks surrounding it. This set also presents a convincing case for broken beat's lack of stuffiness and abundance of nuance. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 802560002421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)