Branford Marsalis Creation

15 ratings
Price: $7.19
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.79 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36AJC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Sony


  • Buy for $0.991.Gymnopedie No. 3
  • Buy for $0.992.Children's Corner Ste: The Little Shepherd
  • Buy for $0.993.Pavane Pour Une Infante Defunte
  • 4.La Creation Du Monde, Op. 81
  • Buy for $0.995.Requiem, Op. 48: Pie Jesu
  • Buy for $0.996.Sorocaba (Saudades Do Brasil No. 1), Op. 67
  • Buy for $0.997.Scaramouche Ste, Op. 165c: I. Vif
  • Buy for $0.998.Scaramouche Ste, Op. 165c: Ii. Modere
  • Buy for $0.999.Scaramouche Ste, Op. 165c: Iii. Brazileira
  • Buy for $0.9910.Corcovado (Saudades Do Brasil No. 7), Op. 7
  • Buy for $0.9911.Sumare (Saudades Do Brasil No. 9), Op. 67
  • Buy for $0.9912.Concertino Da Camera: I. Allegro Con Molto
  • Buy for $0.9913.Concertino Da Camera: Ii. Larghetto
  • Buy for $0.9914.Concertino Da Camera: Iii. Animato Moto
  • Buy for $0.9915.Laranjeiras (Saudades Do Brasil No. 11), Op. 67
  • Buy for $0.9916.Children's Corner: Golliwogg's Cake - Walk

Product Description:

Personnel: Branford Marsalis (saxophone, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone).
Liner Note Author: Rafi Zabor.
Recording information: American Academy Of Arts And Letters, New York, NY (03/09/2000-03/09/2000).
Editor: Ellen Fitton.
Photographer: Josef Astor.
Arranger: Ronnie Bauch.
Branford Marsalis' second classical album -- released a yawning 15 years after his first -- is a far more successful project than its predecessor, dwelling entirely within the world of French music of the 20th century. Thankfully, Marsalis doesn't have to rely too heavily upon transcriptions this time, choosing interesting, stimulating, often jazz-influenced works with a genuine saxophone part, and he has the expert backing of New York City's Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, who doesn't use a conductor and doesn't need one. For Marsalis' fans, this album is also a rare opportunity to hear him on alto saxophone, along with soprano, and like his brother, Wynton, Branford Marsalis plays entirely and knowingly within the classical style, with one pardonable exception noted below. The CD begins deceptively with some Ronnie Bauch transcriptions of pastoral standard stuff by Satie, Debussy, and Ravel, but then veers into the authentically orchestrated strains of Milhaud's juxtapositions of melancholy and whoop-de-do hijinks, "La Creation Du Monde," which has a prominent part for alto saxophone. It's a fine rendition, too, well-paced, very polished and urbane, yet sufficiently raucous -- if not ideally swinging -- in the jazzy stretches. Listeners also get Milhaud's own version of the flippant "Scaramouche Suite" for alto saxophone and orchestra, which receives a performance filled with refinement and sass, and Ibert's delightful, neo-classical "Concertino Da Camera for Alto Saxophone" and "Orchestra," where Marsalis improvises his own cadenza with some of the post-bop fire that he displays in jazz. Sprinkled around the big works by Milhaud and Ibert are four excerpts from Milhaud's "Saudades do Brasil," performed by Orpheus with a detailed awareness of the music's swaying polytonal intricacies. A winner from Marsalis, sumptuously recorded and proof that good things can come from those who wait. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Branford Marsalis

Product Info

  • UPC: 696998925120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)