BT 10 Years in the Life (2-CD)

10 Years in the Life (2-CD)
21 ratings
Price: $22.48
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ADV5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 10, 2002
  • Label: Sire / London/Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Moment of Truth, The - (original radio version)
  • 2.Relativity
  • 3.Embracing the Sunshine - (Embracing the Future Mix)
  • 4.Loving You More - (7" edit)
  • 5.Blue Skies - (radio edit)
  • 6.Flaming June - (BT & PVD edit)
  • 7.Love, Peace and Grease - (BT's Puma FILA 7" Mix)
  • 8.Remember - (Single Mix)
  • 9.The Road to Lost Withiel
  • 10.Lullaby for Gaia
  • 11.Believer
  • 12.Dreaming - (Libra Mix)
  • 13.Giving Up the Ghost
  • 14.Never Gonna Come Back Down - (single edit)
  • 15.The Revolution

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tripping the Light Fantastic
  • 2.Dreams - (BT's Circadium Dream mix)
  • 3.Running Around Town - (BT's Shelter Mix)
  • 4.Not Over Yet - (BT's Peyote Dub mix, BT's Peyote Dub)
  • 5.Nanita (A Spanish Lullaby) - (BT's Voltaire Organica Remix, BT's Voltaire Organica remix)
  • 6.Stranded - (BT vs. DD Mix: Deep Dish Edit mix, Deep Dish edit)
  • 7.Promethean Groove, The - (edit)
  • 8.Anomaly - Calling Your Name (Brat edit)
  • 9.Quark - (Coolaid Mix)
  • 10.Drowned World / Substitute for Love - (BT and Sasha's Bucklodge Ashram Rem mix, BT & Sasha's Bucklodge Ashram remix)
  • 11.Bad Girl - (BT's Spoken Progenitor Mix)
  • 12.Keep Hope Alive - (BT's Creatine Method Mix)
  • 13.Shineaway

Product Description:

Disc 2 is a continuous in-the-mix CD featuring BT (Brian Transeau) remixes of other artists' tracks.
BT is Brian Transeau.
Producers include: Brian Transeau.
Compilation producer: Craig DeGraff.
Includes liner notes by Craig DeGraff and Brian Transeau.
Personnel: Brian Transeau (vocals, guitar, synthesizer, drums, programming); DJ Rap, Jan Johnston, Kirsty Hawkshaw, Lem Springsteen, M. Doughty, Rasco, Richard Butler, Richard Morel, Tori Amos (vocals); Richard Fortus (guitar); Vini Reilly (flamenco guitar); Steve Barkin, Andy Gray (programming); Davey Dave (scratches).
Audio Mixers: Paul Oakenfold; Steve Osborne; Brian Transeau.
Audio Remixers: Evolution; Claudio Giussani; Libra ; Paul Brogden; Paul van Dyk; Brian Transeau.
Liner Note Author: Craig DeGraff.
Arrangers: B-Tribe; Brian Transeau.
Early on a house producer for the Deep Dish collective, later a trance pioneer and surprising figurehead for electronica among mainstream buyers, BT earned a comprehensive retrospective with the double-disc 10 Years in the Life. Separated into a disc of his own tracks and a disc of his own remixes of other artists, the set displays what made Brian Transeau a hit with dance fans all over the world (mainly in Britain and America). The first disc begins with his first productions ("The Moment of Truth," "Relativity"), both of which rose above much of the house music being pumped out of New York during the early '90s. After signing on to Perfecto, the label led by U.K. DJ supremo Paul Oakenfold, BT began hitting with the British mainstream. Led by "Loving You More," "Flaming June," and the Tori Amos feature "Blue Skies," BT productions paved the way for the return of epic-sounding dance with strong melodies, a heavy debt to the sequencer, and a drum breakdown or two; the trance steamroller of the late '90s owes its highest debt to BT, perhaps even more so than the DJs (Oakenfold, Sasha, John Digweed), who relentlessly caned the tracks that put trance in the hearts and minds of British, and later American, clubgoers. From there, he became more an album artist, tracking different strains of music instead of innovating as before -- whether electro-techno ("Love, Peace & Grease"), the LTJ Bukem style of ambient drum'n'bass ("The Road to Lostwithiel"), or even post-millennial chart pop ("Never Gonna Come Back Down," partially saved by Soul Coughing's M. Doughty on vocals) -- but always delivering highly polished productions. The second disc is a baker's dozen of BT remixes, continuously mixed and featuring quite a few excellent co-productions: a soundclash with childhood friends Deep Dish on "Stranded"; a co-billing with Sasha reworking Madonna's "Drowned World/Substitute for Love"; and the last track, "Shineaway," with the Psychedelic Furs' Richard Butler on vocals. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for BT

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227811822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.34/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)