Ruth Brown Swamp Dogg Presents: Miss Rhythm & Miss Blues

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Swamp Dogg Presents: Miss Rhythm & Miss Blues
10% OFF
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SDGE 1961

CD Details

  • Released: January 15, 2008
  • Label: S.D.E.G.


  • 1.Ruth Brown - I Want To Sleep With You
  • 2.Ruth Brown - What Color Is Blue
  • 3.Ruth Brown - Brown Sugar
  • 4.Ruth Brown - Lots More Of Me Leaving (Less Of Me Coming Home)
  • 5.Ruth Brown - Ain't No Piece Of Cake
  • 6.Ruth Brown - Stop Knocking
  • 7.Ruth Brown - Ol' Fashioned Good Time Loving You
  • 8.Ruth Brown - Sugar Babe
  • 9.Ruth Brown - My Ol' Bed
  • 10.Ruth Brown - I Love My Man
  • 11.Sandra Phillips - Rescue Song
  • 12.Sandra Phillips - I've Been Down So Long
  • 13.Sandra Phillips - My Man And Me
  • 14.Sandra Phillips - To The Other Woman (I'm The Other Woman)
  • 15.Sandra Phillips - Now That I'm Gone (When Are You Leaving)
  • 16.Sandra Phillips - Someday We'll Be Together
  • 17.Sandra Phillips - After All I Am Your Wife
  • 18.Sandra Phillips - Ghost Of Myself
  • 19.Sandra Phillips - If You Get Him (He Was Never Mind)
  • 20.Sandra Phillips - She Didn't Know (She Kept On Talking)
  • 21.Sandra Phillips - Please Don't Send Him Back To Me
  • 22.Sandra Phillips - Some Mother's Son

Product Description:

Personnel: Travis Wammack (guitar); Stacy Goss, Mike Stough, Harrison Calloway, Charles Rose, Harvey Thompson, Ronnie Eades (horns); Clayton Ivey, Paul Hornsby (organ); Jimmy Evans, Johnny Sandlin (drums); Ella Brown, Jackie Avery (background vocals).
Recording information: Broadway Sound, Muscle Shaols, AL.
Maverick songwriter, producer, and singer Jerry "Swamp Dogg" Williams is one of the pure characters in the story of American pop and soul. Aside from writing hundreds of songs and putting out albums on his own, Williams has also produced an astounding range of artists that run the gamut from Gene Pitney to Kid Rock. He has always shown a special affinity for female R&B singers, though, and through his Swamp Dogg Presents imprint, which he founded way back in 1972, he has released several LPs by singers like Ruby Andrews and Gloria Lynne and the two artists collected here, Ruth Brown and Sandra Phillips, whose Swamp Dogg Presents material is collected here in its entirety. Brown, of course, had a long career outside of the Swamp Dogg camp, and her tracks here are all drawn from the 1976 LP she did with Williams. Originally called Sugar Babe, these ten cuts have been reissued countless times under different titles, including Brown, Black & Beautiful, Brown Sugar and What Color Is the Blues, and are hardly rarities. The Phillips material comes from her sole album, Too Many People in One Bed, which was originally released in 1970 by Canyon Records. Williams' hand is all over both albums, writing all the songs and giving both releases his patented crisp, clear production style. Highlights include Brown's sleek and beautiful "I Want to Sleep with You" and Phillips' infectious "Rescue Song" and her wry delivery on "Now That I'm Gone (When Are You Leaving)." ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ruth Brown

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 121,507
  • UPC: 722247196123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item