James Brown The Singles, Volume 5: 1967-1969 (2-CD)

The Singles, Volume 5: 1967-1969 (2-CD)
3 ratings
Price: $26.98
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  36AHC
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Hip-O Select

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.84
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] tremendously absorbing collection of late 60s singles. Packed with seismic chunks of classic funk, it also includes rare B-sides..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me), Pt. 1
  • Buy for $1.292.There Was a Time
  • Buy for $0.993.The Soul of J.B.
  • Buy for $1.294.Funky Soul #1
  • Buy for $0.995.You've Got to Change Your Mind
  • Buy for $0.996.Bringing Up the Guitar
  • Buy for $0.997.Gittin'a Little Hipper
  • Buy for $1.298.I Got the Feelin'
  • Buy for $1.299.If I Ruled the World
  • Buy for $0.9910.You've Got the Power
  • Buy for $1.2911.Shhhhhh (For a Little While)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Here I Go
  • Buy for $1.2913.America Is My Home
  • Buy for $0.9914.America Is My Home
  • Buy for $0.9915.Licking Stick Licking Stick, Pt. 1
  • Buy for $0.9916.Licking Stick Licking Stick
  • Buy for $0.9917.Licking Stick Licking Stick
  • Buy for $0.9918.Licking Stick Licking Stick
  • Buy for $0.9919.There Was a Time
  • Buy for $0.9920.I Guess I'll Have to Cry, Cry, Cry
  • Buy for $0.9921.Just Plain Funk
  • Buy for $0.9922.I Guess I'll Have to Cry, Cry, Cry - (alternate take)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Say It Loud, I'm Black and I'm Proud (Pt. 1)
  • Buy for $0.692.Say It Loud, I'm Black and I'm Proud
  • Buy for $1.293.Maybe Good Maybe Bad
  • Buy for $1.294.Maybe Good Maybe Bad
  • Buy for $1.295.Goodbye My Love
  • Buy for $0.996.Shades of Brown
  • Buy for $0.697.Shades of Brown
  • Buy for $1.298.Santa Claus Go Straight to the Ghetto
  • Buy for $0.999.You Know It
  • Buy for $1.2910.Tit for Tat (Ain't No Taking Back)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Believers Shall Enjoy (Non Believers Shall Suffer)
  • Buy for $1.2912.Let's Unite the Whole World at Christmas
  • Buy for $0.9913.In the Middle
  • Buy for $0.9914.In the Middle
  • Buy for $0.9915.Little Green Apples
  • Buy for $0.6916.Come on in the House
  • Buy for $1.2917.Give It Up or Turnit a Loose
  • Buy for $0.9918.I'll Lose My Mind
  • Buy for $0.9919.Soul Pride (Pt. 1)/Open End I.D.1/Open End I.D.2
  • Buy for $0.9920.Soul Pride
  • Buy for $0.9921.You Got to Have a Job (If You Don't Work You Can't Eat)

Product Description:

Personnel: James Brown (vocals, piano, organ); Bobby Byrd (vocals, celesta, organ); Vicki Anderson (vocals); Wallace Richardson, Alphonso "Country" Kellum, Jimmy Nolen, Troy Seals, Carl Lynch (guitar); Winston Collymore, Sant Ram, Harry Malnikoff, Sidney Edwards, Nick Hardone, Charles Libove, Matthew Raimondi, Harry Katzman, Selwart Clarke (strings); Walter Foster (harmonica); Les Asch (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Alfred Ellis (alto saxophone); St. Clair Pinckney (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Pee Wee Ellis (tenor saxophone, organ); Eldee Williams, Maceo Parker (tenor saxophone); Dave Parkinson, Haywood Henry (baritone saxophone); Joe Dupars, Waymon Reed, Johnny Grimes , Joe Newman , Richard "Kush" Griffith (trumpet); Levi Rasbury (French horn, valve trombone); Fred Wesley, Garnett Brown, Jimmy Cleveland (trombone); Timothy Hedding, Ernie Hayes (piano); Clyde Stubblefield, John Starks, Beau Dollar Bowman (drums); Ron Selico (bongos); Rafael Rivera (timbales); Edward Williams (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Alan Leeds.
Photographers: Alan Leeds; Alfred Ellis.
Arrangers: James Brown; Nat Jones; Pee Wee Ellis; Sammy Lowe; Bobby Byrd .
The nearly four-dozen sides of genre-defining soul that James Brown committed to 7" vinyl between November of 1967 and January 1969 are gathered on Hip-O Select's two-CD limited-edition Singles, Vol. 5: 1967 -- 1969 (2008). As they have done on their four previous installments, co-producers Harry Weinger and Alan Leeds have spent literally hundreds of man-hours in the methodical restoration of Soul Brother #1's copious legacy and oft confusing discography. For this package, they anthologize one of Brown's most influential eras as the artist's insatiable quest to deliver rhythm & blues into newer and definitely funkier territory comes to a crucial crossroads. This reverberation would reflect a social upheaval simultaneously occurring across America. Perhaps the clearest indicator of Brown's place at the apex of the impending Black Pride revolution is that more than a quarter of these songs crossed from the R&B to the pop charts. Among them are classic grooves and even rare edits of such memorable titles as "I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me)," "There Was a Time," "I Got the Feelin'," "Licking Stick, Pts. 1&2," "Say It Loud -- I'm Black and I'm Proud," "Goodbye My Love," and "Give It Up or Turnit a Loose" -- all of which made it into the Top 40 Pop Singles survey. In the spirit of completeness, monaural and stereophonic editions of "Licking Stick" are offered because -- as Weinger and Leeds refer to in the copious fact-filled, 28-page liner booklet -- both the "mono and stereo masters [of the song] were randomly interchanged at the King Records pressing plant." Another interesting anomaly is "Shades of Brown, Pt. 2." Although the selection is, in fact, the continuation of the B-side to "Goodbye by Love," it was Birmingham, AL disc jockey Steve "Soul" Myers' name on the label. Atypically, the A-side to "Shades of Brown, Pt. 2" isn't on this package. The compilers decision to exclude that may have had something to do with the fact that it wasn't officially credited to the artist, not to mention that the novelty platter was nothing more than a so-called "break-in" record. Here, clips from well-known classics are used as responses in what is set up as an interview. Vigilant enthusiasts can locate "James Brown -- A Talk with the News" on the 40th Anniversary Sampler (1996). Interestingly there are additional numbers not billed to James Brown or his Famous Flames. Among them are vocalist Vicki Anderson, who gets props on "You've Got the Power," while Bobby Byrd's "You've Got to Change Your Mind" and Marva Whitney's "You Got to Have a Job (If You Don't Work, You Can't Eat)" are also located here. Additionally, there is a reading of "There Was a Time" which was issued under the name of the Dapps featuring Alfred Ellis. This is the Famous Flames song with Alfred "Pee Wee" Ellis (sax) soloing where Brown's lead vocals had formerly been. The Dapps are given the nod for "Bring Up the Guitar" and "Gittin' a Little Hipper," while the remake of the O.C. Smith hit "Little Green Apples" b/w "Come on in the House" was done under the lengthy moniker Alfred "Pee Wee" Ellis featured with the James Brown Band. Finally, there are also a few very short spoken "Open End I.D.'s" that are not mentioned on the rear tray card song list, but are tucked between tracks 18 and 19 on disc two. These would have been used by radio stations in an attempt to personalize the James Brown cuts on their respective play lists. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,610
  • UPC: 602517536715
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)