James Brown Sex Machine [Masters] (Live)

Sex Machine [Masters] (Live)
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HFJY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Masters Intercontine


  • 1.It's Too Funky in Here
  • 2.Doin' It to Death
  • 3.Try Me
  • 4.Prisoner of Love
  • 5.Georgia on My Mind
  • 6.Super Bad (Disco Rap)
  • 7.Sex Machine
  • 8.Please, Please, Please

Product Description:

The catalogues of artists on the caliber of James Brown are riddled with obscure, indie label releases of indeterminate origin that fall between the cracks in the artists' discography. This album falls squarely into that camp. No information is given, apart from song titles, but it seems to be a live recording from the '80s, including main man Maceo Parker. However obscure SEX MACHINE's derivation though, it's nearly impossible for a live James Brown record to be anything but a gloriously funky experience. Sound quality is less than stellar, but adequate, and some tunes fade out unceremoniously. However, the song selection zeroes in on some of the key points in Brown's repertoire. The Godfather of Soul waxes slow and soulful over "Georgia on My Mind," turns supplicant on the perennial crowd favorite "Please, Please, Please" and lays it all on the line on the funk masterpiece that gives this album its title.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 024266108027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)