James Brown Sex Machine (2-CD)

Sex Machine (2-CD)
3 ratings
Hurry! Only 1 copy left Sorry no back-orders
Sale: $8.08
SUPER SAVINGS: $4.89 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $4.09 (46% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HFJV
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Double Pleasure

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Give It Up Turn It Loose
  • 2.Sex Machine (Get Up I Feel Like Being A Sex Machine)
  • 3.Get Up Offa That Thing
  • 4.I Feel Good
  • 5.Rap Pay Back P.1
  • 6.Prisoner Of Love
  • 7.Stay With Me
  • 8.Lowdown Popcorn
  • 9.Right Time (The Night Time Is The Right Time)
  • 10.Bring It On
  • 11.Honky Tonk
  • 12.You Can't Keep A Good Man Down
  • 13.Funky Men
  • 14.Mashed Potatoes Time
  • 15.It's Too Funky In Here
  • 16.Gonna Have A Fubky Good Time

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Papa's Got A Brand New Nag
  • 2.Today
  • 3.Superbad
  • 4.Body Heat
  • 5.Please Please Please
  • 6.Doing It To Death
  • 7.Try Me
  • 8.Get On The Good Foot
  • 9.Georgia On My Mind
  • 10.I Got The Feelin'
  • 11.Cold Sweat
  • 12.I Can't Stand Myself (Whe You Touch Me)
  • 13.I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • 14.Hot Pants (She Got To Use What She Got To Get What She Want)
  • 15.I Got The Feeling
  • 16.It's A Man's Man's World

Product Description:

Although the CD was supposedly "Recorded live at home in Augusta, Georgia with his bad self," these recordings come from two different sources: a live concert recorded at Augusta's Bell Auditorium in 1969, and a series of studio recordings that were doctored with audience noises and applause. The record, long considered a soul classic, actually features two different bands. The concert recordings feature Brown's band from the 1960s, while the studio songs feature Brown's then-new band, powered by Bootsy Collins on bass and Pelps "Catfish" Collins on guitar.
Whether these recordings are "live" or not is really not the point; Brown has never sung a calculated note in his life, and one would be hard-pressed to distinguish whether one of Brown's trademark howls was recorded in a studio or onstage. His scat singing on "Brother Rapp" sure sounds live. As the furious, barely one-minute-long "I Got the Feelin'" segues into the pure funky adrenaline rush of "Give it Up or Turnit A Loose," it is nearly impossible to keep still. The groove is that infectious. Surprisingly, the title track is not the hit single version of "Sex Machine," but rather an extended, more leisurely rendition.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.6
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 46,546
  • UPC: 690978215041
  • Shipping Weight: 0.33/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)