James Brown Gold (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.9
10 ratings
List Price: $19.98
SALE PRICE: $17.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  POR 000891302

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Polydor / Umgd

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Please, Please, Please
  • 2.Try Me
  • 3.Good Good Lovin'
  • 4.I'll Go Crazy
  • 5.Think
  • 6.Lost Someone
  • 7.Night Train
  • 8.Prisoner of Love
  • 9.Out of Sight
  • 10.Papa's Got a Brand New Bag, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 11.I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • 12.It's a Man's Man's World
  • 13.Money Won't Change You
  • 14.Cold Sweat, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 15.There Was a Time
  • 16.I Got the Feelin'
  • 17.Licking Stick-Licking Stick, Pt. 1
  • 18.Say It Loud--I'm Black and I'm Proud, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 19.Give It up or Turn It Loose
  • 20.I Don't Want Nobody to Give Me Nothing (Open up the Door, I'll Get It Myself), Pt. 1
  • 21.Mother Popcorn, Pt. 1
  • 22.Ain't It Funky Now, Pt. 1

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Get up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 2.Super Bad, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 3.Soul Power, Pt. 1
  • 4.Hot Pants, Pt. 1 (She Got to Use What She Got to Get What She Wants)
  • 5.Make It Funky, Pt. 1
  • 6.Talkin' Loud and Sayin' Nothing, Pt. 1
  • 7.King Heroin
  • 8.There It Is, Pt. 1
  • 9.Down and Out in New York City
  • 10.Doing It to Death, Pt. 1
  • 11.The Payback
  • 12.Papa Don't Tkae No Mess, Pt. 1
  • 13.My Thang
  • 14.Funky President (People It's Bad)
  • 15.Get Offa That Thing
  • 16.Bodyheat, Pt. 1
  • 17.It's Too Funky in Here

Product Description:

The first major James Brown anthology to be released after the Godfather of Soul's passing in December 2006, the two-disc GOLD set spans the legendary performer's peak years, from his rise to fame in the mid 1950s as an R&B crooner to his role as funk's elder statesman in the late '70s. The majority of GOLD, however, draws from the '60s, when Brown was boldly stepping out into uncharted musical territory with electrifying horn-led singles such as "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag" and "I Got You (I Feel Good)," tracks that showcased his unstoppable energy and undeniable charisma, and cemented his reputation as "the Hardest Working Man in Show Business."
While Brown's early hits--including the desperate "Please Please Please" and the swooning "Try Me"--revealed the Georgia-bred singer's mastery of doo-wop-influenced balladry, later singles such as "Super Bad" and "The Payback" found Mr. Dynamite unleashing his full funk fury to stunning effect. The perfect middle ground between the well-selected single-disc 20 ALL TIME GREATEST HITS! and the massive four-CD STAR TIME box set, GOLD is easily one of the finest Brown collections available and ideal for any devoted fan.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 37,957
  • UPC: 602517330917
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: