The Brand New Heavies Brand New Heavies

Brand New Heavies
1 rating
Price: $19.79
List Price: $21.99
You Save: $2.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HFFF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 2, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Beat Goes Public Bgp

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 3/26/91
Rating: B+
Q - 4/92, p.70
3 Stars - Good - "...light yet luxuriant music...nothing ought to stop them now..."
Musician - 5/91
"...they may have an old-fashioned sense of soul, but their pop smarts are thoroughly up-to-date..."


  • 1.BNH
  • 2.Gimmie One Of Those
  • 3.Dream Come True
  • 4.Put The Funk Back In It
  • 5.People Get Ready
  • 6.Ride In The Sky
  • 7.Sphynx
  • 8.Stay This Way
  • 9.Shakedown
  • 10.Never Stop (featuring N'dea Davenport)
  • 11.Rest Of Me
  • 12.Reality
  • 13.Mother's Tongue
  • 14.A Day At The Seaside
  • 15.Country Funkin'
  • 16.Never Stop
  • 17.Dream Come True (Original Version)

Product Description:

The Brand New Heavies: N'Dea Davenport (vocals); Simon Bartholomew (guitar); Jim Wellman (soprano & tenor saxophones, keyboards); Andrew Levy (keyboards, bass); Jan Kincaid (keyboards, drums, percussion); Lascelles Gordon (percussion, guitar).
Additional personnel: Ikebod Smoinei (Bavarian berry pipe); Mike Smith (alto & tenor saxophones); Tim Garland (tenor & baritone saxophones); John Wilmot (tenor saxophone); Joan Walker (baritone saxophone); Paul Dias, Andy Bush, Lawrence Perry (trumpet); Brian Archer (trombone); Ceri Evans, Robert Carter (keyboards).
Personnel: Simon Bartholomew (guitar); Jim Wellman (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, keyboards); Tim Garland (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Joan Walker (baritone saxophone); Andy Bush, Paul Dias (trumpet); Brian Archer (trombone); Jan Kincaid (keyboards, drums, percussion); Robert Carter, Andrew Levy, Ceri Evans (keyboards).
Liner Note Author: Dean Rudland.
Many of the artists who were part of Britain's soul scene of the late '80s/early '90s, including Soul II Soul, Lisa Stansfield, and Caron Wheeler, took a high-tech, neo-soul approach, combining '70s-influenced R&B and disco with elements of hip-hop. The equally impressive Brand New Heavies, however, used technology sparingly, stressed the use of real instruments, and were unapologetically retro and '70s-sounding through and through. Drawing on such influences as the Average White Band and Tower of Power, the Heavies triumph by sticking with the classic R&B approach they clearly love the most. The band has a jewel of a singer in N'Dea Davenport, who is characteristically expressive on "Dream Come True" and "Stay This Way." Real horns -- not synthesizers made to sound like horns -- enrich those gems as well as the sweaty vocal funk of "People Get Ready" and "Put the Funk Back in It" and the jazz-influenced instrumental "BNH." While this fine album enjoyed cult hit status, it was sadly ignored by American urban contemporary radio. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Brand New Heavies

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667518727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)