Philip Bailey Dreams

12 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36C4Y
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Heads Up


  • Buy for $0.991.Waiting For the Rain
  • Buy for $0.992.Moondance
  • Buy for $0.993.Dream Like I Do
  • Buy for $0.994.Something
  • Buy for $0.995.Make It With You
  • Buy for $0.996.Sail Away
  • Buy for $0.997.Masquerade Is Over
  • Buy for $0.998.Are We Doing Better Now
  • Buy for $0.999.Something to Remind You
  • Buy for $0.9910.Strength to Love You

Product Description:

DREAMS is and Enhanced CD containing regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Personnel: Philip Bailey (vocals); Peter White (acoustic guitar); Steven Scalfati (guitar, keyboards, programming); Pat Metheny (guitar); Everette Harp (soprano saxophone); Kirk Whalum, Grover Washington, Jr., Gerald Albright, Donald Hayes (saxophone); Randy Brecker (flugelhorn); Morris Pleasure (piano, keyboards, programming); George Duke (piano, synthesizer); Joe McBride (piano); Erik Huber, Robert Brookins (keyboards, programming); Doug Barnett (acoustic bass); Marc Miller, Gerald Veasley (bass); Mark Ivester (drums); Luis Conte (percussion); Darnel Alexander, Valerie Davis (background vocals).
Producers: Erik Huber, Robert Brookins, Philip Bailey, Morris Pleasure.
Engineers include: Erik Huber, Robert Brookins, Martin Walters.
Personnel: Philip Bailey (vocals); Donald Hayes , George Duke, Grover Washington, Jr., Luis Conte, Randy Brecker.
Legendary falsetto-voiced Earth, Wind & Fire vocalist Philip Bailey invites quite a guest list of smooth jazz stars to this party, which marks a strong adult contemporary turn from his solo gospel recordings. Although he never fails to keep his vocal textures front and center, each solid sax solo here is by another great -- Everette Harp, Gerald Albright, Grover Washington, Jr., and Kirk Whalum -- and Peter White and George Duke spruce up many a harmony line. Randy Brecker even shows up, spinning his flugelhorn around the exotic, tropical Latin percussion textures on a bass-driven spin on "Moondance." When you're dealing with this kind of voice, both brilliant and so familiar from years in the urban world, obviously the recording's success rises and falls based on the material. And while Bailey's mostly going the passionate ballad route -- he also covers Bread's "Make It With You" and Pat Metheny's dreamy "Something to Remind You" -- his eagerness, cleverness, and sincerity in delivery help listeners forget that there's not much tempo change going on here. Eric Huber's vocal production, often contrasting Bailey's high notes with a lower vocal line before easing them together, is also sharp. While there's not much funk, the two glorious changes of pace are Bailey's twist into Bobby Caldwell territory on the quartet-flavored "Masquerade Is Over" and "Are We Doing Better Now," which sounds like classic Earth, Wind & Fire meeting a spacy, retro-soul-minded George Duke. A little more groove next time might be cool, but Bailey's still got enough of the old fire burning. ~ Jonathan Widran

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Philip Bailey

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,402
  • UPC: 053361304829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)