Martha & The Vandellas Motown Legends: Jimmy Mack

Motown Legends: Jimmy Mack
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 8426
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Universal Music MCAD-38508 (1993)

Description by

A budget-priced 11-track collection of Motown favorites from Martha Reeves & The Vandellas. All original recordings.


  • 1.Jimmy Mack
  • 2.In And Out Of My Life
  • 3.(Love Is Like A) Heat Wave
  • 4.Tears On My Pillow
  • 5.I Love The Man
  • 6.In My Lonely Room
  • 7.To Think You Would Hurt Me
  • 8.I Should Be Proud
  • 9.Mickey's Monkey
  • 10.I Promise To Wait My Love
  • 11.Easily Persuaded

Product Description:

Motown's LEGENDS series doesn't quite hold up to some of the label's other compilation packages (notably the double-disc ANTHOLOGY series), but as short, career-spanning samplers, they are still highly enjoyable. This is true of Martha Reeves & the Vandellas' LEGENDS disc, an 11-track tour of the group's danceable, R&B-inflected pop. Two of the group's biggest hits are here, the mid-tempo "Jimmy Mack" and the irrepressibly joyous "(Love Is Like a) Heat Wave," which is arguably the trio's finest moment. And while "Dancing in the Streets" and "Honey Chile" are conspicuously absent, there are plenty of gems on the set.
The ballad "In and Out of My Life" and the surging "I Love the Man" showcase Reeves's sultry leads and the tight-knit harmonies of Betty Kelly and Rosalind Ashford. The torchy "To Think You Would Hurt Me" and the rave-up version of Holland/Dozier/Holland's "Mickey's Monkey" (which was a hit for Smokey Robinson & the Miracles) prove Reeves & the Vandellas equally adept at plucking the heartstrings and filling the dance floor. Bonus tracks, particularly the funky "Easily Persuaded," make this collection worth picking up.
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Martha & The Vandellas

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431842621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)