Tyrese Tyrese

86 ratings
Price: $7.19
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.79 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  67WKX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Vibe - 9/98, p.297
"...The intoxicating blend of soft strings, explosive background vocals, and pulsating rhythms...will definitely make you thirsty..."
The Source - 11/98, p.208
"...With a couple of Jermaine Dupri remixes and a crafty Paul Hunter video, Tyrese may be able to realize his goal of making the girls swoon..."
Rap Pages - 9/98, p.128
3 (out of 5) - "...Tyrese has a mature-sounding voice...and above-average vocal range, that he uses effectively to switch evenly between fast and slower tempos, which offer good variety on an excellent debut."
NME (Magazine) - 10/23/99, p.38
6 out of 10 - "...possessed of a voice that yearns, pleads, cajoles....This is loverman ghetto music for today; aimed at women, but actually designed for the art of love..."


  • 1.Nobody Else
  • 2.Tell Me, Tell Me - (with Before Dark)
  • 3.Promises
  • 4.Sweet Lady
  • 5.Lately
  • 6.Give Love a Try
  • 7.Ain't Nothin' Like a Jones
  • 8.You Get Yours
  • 9.Do You Need
  • 10.Taste My Love
  • 11.I Can't Go On
  • 12.Stay in Touch
  • 13.(Untitled) - (hidden track)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Tyrese Gibson (vocals); Shelene, Peter Gunz (rap vocals); Troy Taylor (various instruments, background vocals); Glenn Mosley, Ewuart A. Wilson Jr., Nate Love, Big Mike Clemmons (various instruments); Jake (guitar, keyboards, bass, programming); Michael J. Powell (guitar, percussion); J.C. Whitelaw (guitar); Trevor Job (keyboards, bass, drums, percussion, programming); Ray Watkins, Vernon Fails (keyboards); Lawson A. Turner (bass); Paul Allen, Ron Otis (drums); Before Dark, Marc Nelson, Juanita Wynn, Jake, Kevin Scott, Keesha, Karen Anderson, Stephanie Cooke, Tiffany Carlin, Fundisha Johnson, Valerie Pinkston, Terry Bradford, Willie Wheaton (background vocals).
Producers include: Jake, Chad "Dr. Cuess" Elliott, Al West, Khaliq, Ali.
Engineers include: Ben Arrindell, Ken Deranteriasian, Michael Teelucksingh.
"Sweet Lady" was nominated for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance.
Personnel: Tyrese (vocals); Troy Taylor (vocals, various instruments); Glen Mosley (various instruments, programming); Nate Love (various instruments); Jake Job (keyboards); Trevor Job (bass instrument, drums, percussion, programming).
Funk guitar, '70s soul string arrangements, hip-hop-inflected beats and sophisticated electronica-derived mixing techniques all play a part in the musical pastiche that is Tyrese's self-titled debut. While the album falls squarely in the contemporary R&B mold, and is bound to appeal to fans of the genre, Tyrese skillfully avoids many of the style's cliches. Though his voice is smooth and flexible, he never engages in R. Kelly-style histrionics, preferring to play it cool and communicate the emotions of the songs without over-extending himself. While all the tunes here are carefully produced and arranged, there's an agreeable grittiness that sets Tyrese apart from many of his contemporaries.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 86 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Tyrese

Product Info

  • UPC: 078636690124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)