SWV New Beginning

New Beginning
26 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33VHC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 4/26/96, p.57
"...for SWV, the whole is greater than the sum of the parts..." - Rating: B
The Source - 7/96, p.94
"...NEW BEGINNING offers the listener a much more comprehensive sense of this group's creative drive..."


  • Buy for $0.991.New Beginning (Interlude)
  • Buy for $0.992.You're the One
  • Buy for $0.993.Whatcha Need
  • Buy for $0.994.On & On
  • Buy for $0.995.It's All About U
  • Buy for $0.996.Use Your Heart
  • Buy for $0.997.Where Is the Love (Interlude)
  • Buy for $0.998.Fine Time
  • Buy for $0.999.Love Is So Amazin'
  • Buy for $0.9910.Use Your Heart (Interlude)
  • Buy for $0.9911.You Are My Love
  • Buy for $0.9912.I'm So in Love
  • Buy for $0.9913.When This Feeling
  • Buy for $0.9914.What's It Gonna Be
  • Buy for $0.9915.That's What I'm Here For
  • Buy for $0.9916.Don't Waste Your Time
  • Buy for $0.9917.Soul Intact (Interlude)

Product Description:

SWV: Cheryl "Coko" Gamble, Tamara "Taj" Johnson, LeAnne "Lelee" Lyons (vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Erick Sermon, Ishmael "Ish Butter/Fly" Butler (rap vocals); Herb Middleton, Chucky Thompson (various instruments); Bernard Grobeman, Angelo Quaglia, James T. Smith (guitar); Anthony "Reezmo" Burroughs, Joel Campbell (keyboards, Fender Rhodes); Allen "Allstar" Gordon, Jr. (keyboards, bass); Brian Alexander Morgan (keyboards, drums, percussion); Daryl Simmons, Genard "Getn Payd" Parker (keyboards, drum programming); Ralph Stacy (synthesizer); Glen Ellis, Dwight Watkins (bass).
Producers include: Herb Middleton, Allen "Allstar" Gordon, Jr., Erick Sermon, Brian Alexander Morgan, Daryl Simmons.
Engineers include: Mark Partis, Angelo Qualgia, Andrew Blakelock.
Personnel: LeAnne Lyons, Cheryl Gamble (vocals, background vocals); Erick Sermon, Ishmael Butler (rap vocals); Bernard Grobman (guitar); Anthony Burroughs, Joel Campbell (Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards); Brian Alexander Morgan (keyboards, drums); Genard Parker (keyboards, drum programming); Ralph Stacy (synthesizer); Daryl Simmons (keyboard programming, drum programming); Tamara Johnson (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Dave Way; Sean Devereaux; Grant Austin; Mark Partis; Andy Blakelock; Ken Schubert; Lane Craven; Larry Funk; Tony Maserati ; Brian Alexander Morgan.
Recording information: Battery Recording Studios, NY; B-Section, Laguna Beach, CA; Capitol Records, Hollywood, CA; Cue Studios, Fall Church, VA; D.A.R.P. Studios, Atlanta, GA; Daddy's House Recordings, New York, NY; Head Up Recording Studios, NJ; Hit City Studio, New York, NY; Quad Recording Studio, New York, NY; Sound On Sound Recording Studios, NY; Soundtrack Studios, New York, NY; Unique Recording Studios, New York, NY.
Editors: Angelo Quaglia; Matthias Heilbronn.
Photographer: Michael Lavine.
This follow-up to the platinum-selling debut IT'S ABOUT TIME doesn't stray too far from SWV's R&B-meets-pop appeal, but experience and maturity add depth to a second album that a lot of people thought would never come out. This really does sound like a NEW BEGINNING. From start to finish, the focus is on love, as the titles make quite clear: "Where Is The Love," "Love Is So Amazin'," "You Are My Love," "I'm So In Love"). But the production is diverse, drawing fine lines from one song to the next. And while Coko's lead vocals dominated the debut album, here she takes a backseat to bandmates Taj and Lelee on "New Beginning (Interlude)," "It's All About U" and "Don't Waste Your Time," giving the trio a richer, fuller sound this time around.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 26 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for SWV

Product Info

  • UPC: 078636648729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)