New Birth The Very Best of the New Birth Inc.: Where Soul Meets Funk

The Very Best of the New Birth Inc.: Where Soul
29 ratings
Price: $7.19
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.79 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33VFV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: RCA


  • Buy for $0.991.Comin' From All Ends
  • Buy for $0.992.K-Jee - (with The Nite-Liters)
  • Buy for $0.993.It's Impossible
  • Buy for $0.994.I Can Understand It
  • Buy for $0.995.How Good It Feels
  • Buy for $0.996.I Don't Want to Do Wrong - (with Love, Peace & Happiness)
  • Buy for $0.997.I Wash My Hands of the Whole Damn Deal, Part 1
  • Buy for $0.998.Keep on Doin' It
  • Buy for $0.999.You Are What I'm All About
  • Buy for $0.9910.Afro Strut - (with The Nite-Liters)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Got to Get a Knutt
  • Buy for $0.9912.Dream Merchant
  • Buy for $0.9913.It's Been a Long Time
  • Buy for $0.9914.Do It Again
  • Buy for $0.9915.Wild Flower
  • Buy for $0.9916.Until It's Time For You to Go

Product Description:

The New Birth Inc. includes: Leslie Wilson, Londee Wiggins, Alan Frey, Ann Bogan (vocals); The Nite-Liters, Love, Peace & Happiness.
Includes liner notes by A. Scott Galloway.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Alan Frey (vocals, congas, percussion); Londie Wiggins, Charles Brewer, Leslie Wilson, Melvin Wilson (vocals); Carl McDaniel (guitar, background vocals); Charlie Hearndon, Kenny Hawkins (guitar); Tony Churchill (tenor saxophone, background vocals); Austin Lander (baritone saxophone, background vocals); Robert Jackson (trumpet, background vocals); James Baker (trombone, keyboards, percussion); Robin Russell (drums, percussion); Jim Hill (drums).
Liner Note Author: A. Scott Galloway.
Recording information: 01/18/1971-??/??/1975.
Arrangers: Andre Moore; James Baker ; Charlie Hearndon; Harvey Fuqua; Richard Jones .
A comprehensive package of producer Harvey Fuqua's concept, New Birth Inc. consisted of the Nightlighters, Love, Peace & Happiness, and New Birth. The Nightlighters' "K-Jee" was the first hit out the box, scoring before New Birth; the lively, festival-sounding instrumental has enjoyed an amazing longevity. It's still popular at the halftimes of football games and on classic radio shows. Love, Peace & Happiness, which featured Anne Bogan and two Wilson brothers, who also sang with New Birth, are represented by one number, a soul-dripped version of "I Don't Want to Do Wrong," the Gladys Knight & the Pips smash. New Birth is well represented. Their deep soul rendition of "Dream Merchant" still sends shivers up and down one's spine, as does "Wild Flower" and the poppish "It's Impossible," sung by Londee Loren. Attempts at disco are less pleasing, but on this package the songs "I Wash My Hands of the Whole Damn Deal," "Comin' from All Ends," and "Keep on Doin' It" are more palatable. ~ Andrew Hamilton

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 078636673226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)