Morcheeba Charango

52 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $2.10 (18% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  F6YE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 16, 2002
  • Label: Reprise / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/19/02, p.98
3 stars out of 5 - "Lush, vaguely exotic strings, tasteful electronic beats and a female singer who's so languid she's almost not there....Morcheeba make a lovely sound..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 8/02, p.104
"...Soulful in a Dolce & Gabbana kind of way..." Uncut (8/02, p.110) - 4 out of 5 - "...The entire album is a beauty...The most adventurous album of their career..."


  • 1.Slow Down
  • 2.Otherwise
  • 3.Aqualung
  • 4.Sao Paulo
  • 5.Charango - (featuring Pacewon)
  • 6.What New York Couples Fight About - (featuring Kurt Wagner)
  • 7.Undress Me Now
  • 8.Way Beyond
  • 9.Women Lose Weight - (featuring Slick Rick)
  • 10.Get Along - (featuring Pacewon)
  • 11.Public Displays of Affection
  • 12.The Great London Traffic Warden Massacre

Product Description:

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Morcheeba: Paul Godfrey (vocals, beats, scratches); Ross Godfrey (guitar, Charango, keyboards, background vocals); Skye (vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Pace Won, Slick Rick, Kurt Wagner, Miriam Stockley, Michael Dove (vocals); Samantha Rowe (cello); Ruth Hammond (flute, saxophone); Debbie Cole (flute); Dan Goldman (keyboards); Richard Harrison, Pino Palladino, Steve Gordon (bass); Miles Bould (percussion).
Fragments of Freedom was released in 2000 and not received very well. If critics and fans would have been able to gaze into a crystal ball a couple of years in the future, they would have understood. With the benefit of hindsight, consider Fragments the prototypically disjointed transitional record that saw Morcheeba shifting focus from trip-hop to a more well-rounded mix, as Charango completes the journey that may have been bumpy, but with a sweet destination. Once again, guests are brought in to augment the band's sound; Lambchop's Kurt Wagner returns to help the electronica act with meditative lead vocals that fit into the film noir soundscape that is "What New York Couples Fight About," and Pace Won adds his rhymes to two tunes -- the title track, which harks back to the trip-hopping salad days of the group and sees the rapper taking the lead, and "Get Along," where he makes a more subtle contribution on a dreamy cut that sounds like something from the '70s if they had more modern equipment back then. However, the best is "Women Lose Weight," which sees Slick Rick sound completely old-school with Morcheeba's pop-soul groove letting his typically clever rhymes and dark comedy dominate the song. Though the appearances of outside musicians is a positive move overall, the remainder of the disc as done by the three members of the group stands up on its own; Skye Edwards' vocals are sultry as she makes all diva-like on lead track "Slow Down," the string-drenched melancholic "Otherwise," and the lazy, tropical "Sao Paulo," and overall her performance makes Charango the band's best record in some time, and for anyone not a purist, it's possibly Morcheeba's best ever. ~ Brian O'Neill

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 52 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Morcheeba

Product Info

  • UPC: 093624834724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)