The Tokens Intercourse [Expanded Edition]

Intercourse [Expanded Edition]
4 ratings
Price: $20.69
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  W545
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 29, 2004
  • Label: Rev-Ola


  • 1.It's Amazing to Be Alive
  • 2.Droplet of Water
  • 3.Bathroom Wall
  • 4.Animal
  • 5.Greenfields
  • 6.Wonderful Things
  • 7.Commercial
  • 8.Gray Is Gray
  • 9.Waiting For Something
  • 10.I Could Be
  • 11.G54321 Lou
  • 12.I Want to Make Love to You
  • 13.In and Out
  • 14.Stereo
  • 15.You Loser- You Fool
  • 16.It's Amazing to Be Alive
  • 17.Some People Sleep

Product Description:

The Tokens includes: Mitch Margo.
Includes liner notes by Mitch Margo.
The Tokens are generally thought of as the vocal group who brought their "Lion Sleeps Tonight" hit to yet another generation through the success of The Lion King. But what we have here is the great lost Tokens album, recorded in 1968 and promptly turned down by Warner Bros. To fill a contractual obligation, a few hundred copies were pressed up -- in a slightly altered form -- and the album pretty much remained an interesting catalog sighting before its CD-era reissue. What we also have here is a White doo wop group delivering an album that falls somewhere between Pet Sounds and Sgt. Pepper's. No wonder Warner didn't know what to make of it; previous attempts by other doo woppers at updating their sound produced some of the most laughable examples that the genre has to offer. But everything on here works in a very organic manner: all of the songs follow a neat continuum and could easily be termed as a humanistic song cycle, each one surrounded by late-'60s Beatlesque production values, right down to the massively compressed drum sounds and omnipresent tape saturation. Trippy, loopy, and totally of its time, classic doo wop this is not; great, however, it is. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Tokens

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929433724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)