Siegel-Schwall Band The Complete Vanguard Recordings and More (3-CD)

The Complete Vanguard Recordings and More (3-CD)
5 ratings
Price: $23.38
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  EXYC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: April 10, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Vanguard Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Howlin' for My Darlin' - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.I've Had All I Can Take - (previously unreleased, TRUE instrumental)
  • 3.Down in the Bottom
  • 4.I Have Had All I Can Take
  • 5.Boot Hill
  • 6.When I Get the Time
  • 7.I've Got to Go Now
  • 8.Mama-Papa
  • 9.I'll Be the Man
  • 10.Little Babe
  • 11.Going to New York
  • 12.Mary
  • 13.So Glad You're Mine
  • 14.(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
  • 15.Break Song

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm a King Bee
  • 2.Slow Blues in a
  • 3.You Don't Love Me Like That
  • 4.I.S.P.I. Blues (Illinois State Psychiatric Institution)
  • 5.Bring It with You When You Come
  • 6.My Baby Thinks I Don't Love Her
  • 7.That's Why I Treat My Baby So Fine
  • 8.I Liked It Where We Walked
  • 9.Easy Rider - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.I Like the Way You Rock - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.Don't Want No Woman - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Sneaky Pete - (previously unreleased, take 2)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Shake for Me
  • 2.My Starter Won't Start
  • 3.Jim Jam
  • 4.Louise, Louise Blues
  • 5.Wouldn't Quit You
  • 6.You Can't Run That Fast
  • 7.Think
  • 8.334-3599
  • 9.Rain Falling Down
  • 10.Get Away Man
  • 11.Yes I Love You
  • 12.I Don't Want You to Be My Girl
  • 13.Do You Remember
  • 14.Geronimo
  • 15.Angel Food Cake
  • 16.Walk in My Mind
  • 17.Song
  • 18.Tell Me
  • 19.A Sunshine Day in My Mind

Product Description:

THE COMPLETE VANGUARD RECORDINGS contains: THE SIEGEL/SCHWALL BAND (1966)/SAY SIEGEL/SCHWALL (1967)/SHAKE! (1968)/SIEGEL/SCHWALL 70 (1970) as well as previously unreleased tracks.
The Siegel/Schwall Band: Corky Siegel (vocals, harmonica, piano, electric piano); Jim Schwall (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Jos Davidson (vocals, bass); Rollo Radford (acoustic & electric basses); Jack Dawson (bass); Russ Chadwick, Shelly Plotkin (drums).
Producers: Samuel Charters, Bill Trout.
Reissue producer: Tom Vickers.
Recorded between 1965 and 1970. Includes liner notes by Jim Bessman.
Digitally remastered by Jeff Zaraya.
This is part of Vanguard's Session Series.
Personnel: Jim Schwall (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Corky Siegel (vocals, harmonica, piano); Jos Davidson (vocals); Rollo Radford (upright bass, electric bass); Russ Chadwick, Sheldon Plotkin (drums).
Liner Note Author: Jim Bessman.
Recording information: 1965-1970.
Photographer: Steve Hansen.
Is a three-CD set of the Siegel-Schwall Band -- including all four of their Vanguard albums (spanning 1966-1970) in their entirety, along with six previously unissued cuts -- too much to take at once? In a word, yes. If you're a blues-rock history nut, though -- and there must be some such listeners out there -- it is a handy collection that gathers every last shred of recorded evidence of their early years. In the Chicago-style 1960s white blues sweepstakes, the group lagged way behind the Paul Butterfield Blues Band, an unavoidable reference point due to the similarity of approach and repertoire. Nor were they as good as Charlie Musselwhite or John Hammond, in part because of their vocal limitations, and also in part because of their lesser levels of virtuosity and imagination. They could, however, sometimes summon respectable raffish energy, particularly on the faster or more Bo Diddley-esque tunes, though the slow ones were usually pretty mundane. The highlights of this set are the moments when they do manage to break toward some more original territory, whether it's in the occasional use of mandolin, or the tentative psychedelic pop of the atypical "Song," from Siegel-Schwall 70. If you've heard the albums already, you'll be most interested in the half-dozen previously unreleased tracks, none of which are too great or different from most of their early work. These include two 1965 demos (one of them a cover of Howlin' Wolf's "Howlin' for My Darlin'"); two outtakes from their first Vanguard recording session in 1966; and two 1970 demos, the highlight of that pair being "Easy Rider," which has good slide work. The 12-page booklet, which contains some quotes from the band, is a plus; the absence of songwriter credits is a minus. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Siegel-Schwall Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 015707019026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.40/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)