Hank Williams Hank Williams Revealed: The Unreleased Recordings (3-CD)

Hank Williams Revealed: The Unreleased Recordings
13 ratings
Price: $43.19
List Price: $47.99
You Save: $4.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  W566
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: November 2, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Time Life Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Cold, Cold Heart
  • 2.Move it on Over
  • 3.Lonesome Whistle
  • 4.Long Gone Lonesome Blues
  • 5.Hey, Good Lookin'
  • 6.I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)
  • 7.Why Don't You Love Me
  • 8.A Mansion on the Hill
  • 9.Moanin' the Blues
  • 10.I Just Don't Like This Kind of Livin'
  • 11.They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
  • 12.Mind Your Own Business
  • 13.Lovesick Blues
  • 14.Nobody's Lonesome For Me
  • 15.Twin Guitar Polka
  • 16.Gathering Flowers For the Master's Bouquet
  • 17.Eighth of January
  • 18.Closing Theme

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.That Beautiful Home
  • 2.How Can You Refuse Him Now
  • 3.Lord, Build Me a Cabin in Glory
  • 4.Farther Along
  • 5.Calling You
  • 6.I Am Bound For the Promised Land
  • 7.Dear Brother
  • 8.Jesus Died For Me
  • 9.At the Cross
  • 10.Thirty Pieces of Silver
  • 11.Something Got Hold of Me
  • 12.Lovesick Blues
  • 13.My Sweet Love Ain't Around
  • 14.Fire on the Mountain
  • 15.I Saw the Light
  • 16.Closing Theme

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Everything's Okay
  • 2.I've Just Told Mama Goodbye
  • 3.Where the Old Red River Flows
  • 4.Alabama Waltz
  • 5.Faded Love and Winter Roses
  • 6.Deck of Cards
  • 7.Just Waitin'
  • 8.I Hand My Head and Cry
  • 9.Orange Blossom Special
  • 10.I've Been Down That Road Before
  • 11.Steal Away / The Funeral
  • 12.Lovesick Blues
  • 13.I Dreamed About Mom Last Night
  • 14.Black Mountain Rag
  • 15.I Heard My Savior Calling Me
  • 16.Closing Theme

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
Photographers: Colin Escott; Jett Williams.
Arranger: Hank Williams.
1951 was a breakthrough year for Hank Williams. He had a string of moderate country hits already under his belt, but the release that year of his version of an old jazz age novelty tune called "Lovesick Blues" suddenly made him a big star. It also meant his touring schedule increased, but he still found time that year to slip into Nashville and pre-record shows for the Mother's Best Flour Company. These good-natured and intimate performances were cut to acetate discs and then played over the air on Nashville's WSM radio station. Brittle, disposable, and made for only a few plays, these acetates were then shelved and forgotten until they were literally rescued from the trash in the '70s by an alert WSM employee. In all, 72 of these shows survived, containing some 143 songs, and this three-disc set is the second installment in Time Life's CD preservation of this amazing treasure trove. The performances are intimate and relaxed, and Williams tackles an amazingly varied set list, singing old mountain ballads, hymns, cowboy tunes, and delivering recitations of parlor poems and other various cautionary tales as well. What emerges is a full, rounded portrait of Williams at his creative and commercial peak. "Lovesick Blues" is here, along with fine versions of "I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love with You)," "A Mansion on the Hill," and the Williams-composed gospel classic "I Saw the Light," among others, including a spirited instrumental romp through the old fiddle tune "Eighth of January," which celebrated the British defeat at the Battle of New Orleans on January 8, 1815 (Jimmie Driftwood added lyrics to the tune and had a huge hit with the resulting "The Battle of New Orleans" in 1959). That these long-lost recordings are an absolute treasure simply goes without saying. Hank Williams was country music's first modern superstar and that all these years later, we are given several hours of Williams performing in an intimate setting just as he was beginning to break across the nation's radar, is nothing short of a miracle.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hank Williams

Product Info

  • UPC: 610583316520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.82/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)