Michael Hedges Torched

19 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $3 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-3 business days
Format:  CD-R
sku:  SNYMOD 39423

CD-R Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Sony Music MOD

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 8-9/99, p.47
"...Friends and colleagues affirm Hedges' outlook was quite positive in the months before his death....he found a way to infuse joy into his short but accomplished life."


  • Buy for $0.991.Torched
  • Buy for $0.992.Spring Buds
  • Buy for $0.993.Fusion of the Five Elements
  • Buy for $0.994.Promised Land
  • Buy for $0.995.Phoenix Fire
  • Buy for $0.996.Dream Beach
  • Buy for $0.997.Arrowhead
  • Buy for $0.998.Shell Shock Venus
  • Buy for $0.999.Ursa Major
  • Buy for $0.6910.Free Swinging Soul
  • Buy for $0.9911.Rough Wind in Oklahoma
  • Buy for $0.6912.Sapphire
  • Buy for $0.9913.Gospel Of Mary / The Holy Flame
  • Buy for $0.9914.Java Man
  • Buy for $0.9915.Free Swinging Soul

Product Description:

Personnel: Michael Hedges (guitar, various instruments); David Crosby, Graham Nash (vocals); Michael Manring (bass).
Recorded at the Speech and Hearing Clinic, Mendocino, California; Groove Masters, Santa Monica, California; live at the Lincoln Center, Fort Collins, Colorado on October 16, 1994.
Torched consists of recordings that guitarist Michael Hedges was working on at the time of his fatal automobile accident in December 1997. A collection of demos, this 1999 Windham Hill release has all the intimacy listeners might expect from such a recording without the haphazard performances, as Hedges possessed uncommon technique and emotional connection with every note he played. In this raw format, the rock influences of Hedges' youth appear most notably in vocal phrasings that are more expressive, almost aggressive at times. When compared to completed studio releases, tracks like "Promised Land" and "Spring Buds" have a strong contemporary singer/songwriter cast that is generally absent in Hedges' prior recordings, which possess something of a unique new age flavor. Other cuts, like "Shell Shock Venus," cover a bit more traditional Windham Hill ground. An intellectually curious and by all accounts warm and kind human being, Hedges is represented with two fittingly serene cuts ("Java Man" and "Free Swinging Soul") that finish up Torched, a concise tribute to an extraordinarily precious artist and human being. ~ Vincent Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Michael Hedges

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,515
  • UPC: 019341139423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the New Age genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)