Robyn Hitchcock I Often Dream of Trains [Yep Roc]

I Often Dream of Trains [Yep Roc]
4 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Sale: $13.48
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.96 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $3.02 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HDG3
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Yep Roc Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Nocturne (Prelude)
  • Buy for $0.992.Sometimes I Wish I Was a Pretty Girl
  • Buy for $0.993.Cathedral
  • Buy for $0.994.Uncorrected Personality Traits
  • Buy for $0.995.Sounds Great When You're Dead
  • Buy for $0.996.Flavour of Night
  • Buy for $0.997.Ye Sleeping Knights of Jesus
  • Buy for $0.998.This Could Be the Day
  • Buy for $0.999.Trams of Old London
  • Buy for $0.9910.Furry Green Atom Bowl
  • Buy for $0.9911.Heart Full of Leaves
  • Buy for $0.9912.Autumn Is Your Last Chance
  • Buy for $1.2913.I Often Dream of Trains
  • Buy for $0.9914.Nocturne (Demise)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Winter Live
  • Buy for $0.9916.The Bones in the Ground
  • Buy for $0.9917.My Favourite Buildings
  • Buy for $0.9918.I Used to Say I Love You
  • Buy for $0.9919.Chant / Aether
  • Buy for $0.9920.Heart Full of Leaves - (Alternate)
  • Buy for $0.9921.I Often Dream of Trains - (Demo)
  • Buy for $0.9922.Not Even a Nurse
  • Buy for $0.9923.Slow Chant / That's Fantastic Mother Church
  • Buy for $0.9924.Traveller's Fare

Product Description:

This reissue of I OFTEN DREAM OF TRAINS includes five songs that weren't on the original album but were added as bonus tracks to the first CD release in 1986, as well as five previously-unreleased demos.
Personnel: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, various instruments); James Fletcher (saxophone); Chris Cox (bass, background vocals); James A. Smith (background vocals).
Producer: Robyn Hitchcock.
Reissue producer: Jim Neill.
Engineers include: Pat Collier, Iain O'Higgins, Pascal Gabriel.
Recorded at Alaska Studios and Smithsound, London, England; Simon Kunath's Barn, Sussex, England between 1981 and 1984. Originally released in the U.K. on Midnight Music (00.05). Includes liner notes by Grant Alden.
Personnel: James Fletcher (saxophone).
Recording information: London, England (1984).
Robyn Hitchcock retreated from the music world for a couple years after recording GROOVY DECAY (later issued in altered form as GROOVY DECOY, and finally as GRAVY DECO, which culled together all of the tracks). When he reemerged in 1984 it was clear that he had found a personal voice he'd only hinted at previously. Throughout the record, the spotlight shines brightly on Hitchcock's unique songwriting and performance style.
There is a gorgeous immediacy to the entire work. From the opening piano instrumental, "Nocturne," Hitchcock is gently and gracefully orchestrating the mood of the proceedings. The album closes with a reprise of the same piece, bookending the record, like secret doors into a world suffused with both romanticism and weariness. I OFTEN DREAM OF TRAINS was Hitchcock's first monumental peak and is an essential title in his large catalog of fine works.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Robyn Hitchcock

Product Info

  • UPC: 634457261228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.12/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)