Robyn Hitchcock Black Snake Diamond Role [Yep Rock]

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Black Snake Diamond Role [Yep Rock]
10% OFF
Rating 4.4
13 ratings
Only 6 copies left
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  YEP 2611

CD Details

  • Released: October 16, 2007
  • Label: Yep Roc Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Melody Maker - 7/8/95, p.34
"...thoroughly Home Counties, Syd Barrett-inspired songs sporting reptile heads and porcupine quills...deserves a shrine within the tiny pantheon of excellent post-Sixties acid rock..."


  • 1.The Man Who Invented Himself
  • 2.Brenda's Iron Sledge
  • 3.Do Policeman Stag?
  • 4.The Lizard
  • 5.Meat
  • 6.Acid Bird
  • 7.I Watch the Cars
  • 8.Out of the Picture
  • 9.City of Shame
  • 10.Love
  • 11.All I Wanna Do Is Fall in Love
  • 12.A Skull Suitcasend a Long Red Bottle of Wine
  • 13.It Was the Night
  • 14.I Watch the Cars No. 2
  • 15.Give Me a Spanner Ralph
  • 16.It's a Mystic Trip
  • 17.Grooving on a Inner Plane
  • 18.Happy the Golden Prince

Product Description:

The reissue of BLACK SNAKE DIAMOND ROLE includes five songs not included on the original LP release.
Personnel: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, piano, bass, guitar); James A. Smith (vocals); Kimberly Rew, Knox (guitar); Gary Barnacle (saxophone); Thomas Dolby (keyboards); Matthew Seligman (bass); Morris Windsor (drums, background vocals); Vince Ely (drums); Robb Appleton, Howie Gilbert (background vocals).
Producers: Pat Collier, Matthew Seligman, Robyn Hitchcock.
Reissue producer: Jim Neill.
Engineers: Pat Collier, Andy Llewellyn, Jo Julian.
Originally released in the U.K. on Armageddon (4). Includes liner notes by Grant Alden.
Personnel: Robyn Hitchcock (guitar, harmonica, piano); James A. Smith (vocals, hand claps); Kimberley Rew, Knox (guitar); Thomas Dolby (keyboards); Morris Windsor (drums, background vocals); Vince Ely (drums); Howie Gilbert (background vocals).
Recording information: Alaska, London, England (1980-1981); Music Works, London, England (1980-1981); The Barge, London, England (1980-1981).
Photographer: Rosalind Kunath.
This is Robyn Hitchcock's first solo album, though it has strong sonic links with efforts by his previous group The Soft Boys, who had disbanded just prior to this recording. The Soft Boys' artistically triumphant UNDERWATER MOONLIGHT bore no commercial rewards (they were unable to even find a US label to pick it up) and the band split. All of the band members play on this album, though the overall sound is noticeably not that of The Soft Boys. There's a bit less raucous tumble in the arrangements and production. That said, this is a solid album full of numbers which have become Hitchcock classics, including "The Man Who Invented Himself," "Brenda's Iron Sledge," and "I Watch The Cars."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Robyn Hitchcock

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 128,316
  • UPC: 634457261129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item