Doug Sahm Live From Austin, TX

Doug Sahm - Live From Austin, TX
6 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  DVD
sku:  F6QX
Brand New

DVD Features:

  • Rated: Not Rated
  • Run Time: 56 minutes
  • Video: Color
  • Released: October 2, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: New West Records
  • Encoding: Region 1 (USA & Canada)
  • Packaging: Keep Case
  • Aspect Ratio: Full Frame - 1.33
  • Audio:
    • 5.1 Surround - English
  • Tracks:
    1. Is Anybody Goin' To San Antone
    2. Hoedown
    3. Rains came
    4. Papa Ain't Salty
    5. Stormy Monday
    6. At The Crossroads
    7. Nuevo Laredo
    8. Dynamite Woman
    9. Medley
    10. Mendocino
    11. It's Gonna Be Easy
    12. She's About A Mover

Performers, Cast and Crew:

Music Performer:


  • 1.(Is Anybody Goin' To) San Antone [DVD]
  • 2.Cotton Eyed Joe [DVD]
  • 3.Rains Came [DVD]
  • 4.Papa Ain't Salty [DVD]
  • 5.Stormy Monday [DVD]
  • 6.At the Crossroads [DVD]
  • 7.Nuevo Laredo [DVD]
  • 8.Dynamite Woman [DVD]
  • 9.Medley: Crazy Baby / One Night / Sometimes / Wasted Days & Wasted Nights [DVD
  • 10.Mendocino [DVD]
  • 11.It's Gonna Be Easy [DVD]
  • 12.She's About a Mover [DVD]

Description by RED Distribution:

From the vaults of the award-winning PBS "Austin City Limits" TV show, this is the latest release in the acclaimed "Live From Austin, TX" series.
Doug Sahm a/k/a Sir Doug was both a Texas rock & roll legend and pioneer. True, there were others before him [Buddy Holly and Roy Orbison come to mind], but the Sir Douglas Quintet counterattacked the British invasion of the mid 1960's with their own brand of Chicago-influenced rock that they had been playing around their hometown of San Antonio. Wearing their tight-fitting English-looking suits, they hit the charts with "She's About a Mover" in '65, riding the waves with Doug's incessant guitar twangs and Augie Meyer's much-imitated, two-to-a-beat Vox electric organ chords.
This performance, recorded October 14, 1975, came after Doug had temporarily retired the Sir Douglas name, but features original member Meyer along with musical compadres Martin Steitle, John Barber, Steve McDaniels and Harry Hess. All the Sir Douglas Quintet classics are here, including "Mover," "Mendocino," and "Rain," and Doug ventures into other musical territory ranging from T-Bone Walker to Bob Wills.
Long before the Quintet, Doug had been making music since even before the birth of rock & roll. He began his career as "Little Doug," a guitar-playing prodigy whow as invited to join the Grand Ole Opry when he was only 13. Over time, with the help of his irrepressible personality, he became a voice for Texas music, the original "cosmic cowboy" back in the hey-day of the Armadillo World Headquarters in Austin. But his influence went beyond Texas; in 1973 he even lured Bob Dylan out of hermitage to record with him, and Bob in turn invited him to join his legendary Rolling Thunder Review Tour.
Doug left us suddenly in 1999, but he left behind a unique legacy, a "Groover's Paradise" indeed.


Movie Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Movie Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Doug Sahm

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,287
  • UPC: 607396804726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.16/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)