Joan Baez Blowin' Away

Blowin' Away
13 ratings
20 copies available
SALE: $4.99
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.99 (37% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 8089
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Epic EK-34697 (1977)

Description by

A budget-priced reissue of Joan Baez's 1977 album, "Blowin' Away." All original recordings.


  • 1.Sailing
  • 2.Many A Mile To Freedom
  • 3.Miracles
  • 4.Yellow Coat
  • 5.Time Rag
  • 6.A Heartfelt Line Or Two
  • 7.I'm Blowin' Away
  • 8.Luba The Baroness
  • 9.Alter Boy And The Thief
  • 10.Cry Me A River

Product Description:

Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar, synthesized strings); Elliott Randall, Dean Parks (acoustic & electric guitars); David Mansfield (steel guitar, violin, mandolin); Jeff Baxter (steel guitar); Tom Scott (saxophone); Larry Knechtel (piano, keyboards); Joe Sample, Malcolm Cecil (keyboards); Duck Dunn, Wilton Felder (bass); Rick Shlosser, Jim Gordon (drums); Mike Borts (percussion).
Recorded at Cherokee Recording Studios, Los Angeles, California.
Joan Baez first became known for her unique voice, then her political beliefs, and finally for her songwriting skill. On BLOWIN' AWAY, the sensitive, outspoken singer opens her heart to the listener with lyrics that look back at her career and her personal life. Her first record for CBS, this album documents the singer's professional travails, as well as her failed marriage.
On "Time Rag," Baez laments, "Rippin' along towards middle age/and my music career kinda missed a page/record sales began to drop." On her own composition "Miracles," which may be the highlight of the album, she writes with a kind of poetic dolefulness, "Look around you and you will see/everyone has a small franchise on misery." The Queen Of Folk is in great form on BLOWIN' AWAY. Her singing is marked by variations in texture and mood, as well as by shades of humor and irony, and she even dabbles with a quasi-jazz setting on "Cry Me a River."
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joan Baez

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 10,105
  • UPC: 090431808924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Rock & Pop: Singer / Songwriter Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)