Alexis Cole The Greatest Gift

The Greatest Gift
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  35RJE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Motema Music


  • Buy for $0.991.Joy To the World
  • Buy for $0.992.Jeanette Isabella/ the Call
  • Buy for $0.993.God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
  • Buy for $0.994.Hark! the Herald Angels Sing
  • Buy for $0.995.Rise Up Shepherd, and Follow
  • Buy for $0.996.Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  • Buy for $0.997.Christmas Time is Here (Prelude)
  • Buy for $0.998.Christmas Time is Here
  • Buy for $0.999.What Child is This?
  • Buy for $0.9910.O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  • Buy for $0.9911.Away In a Manger
  • Buy for $0.9912.Silent Night
  • Buy for $0.9913.Happiest Christmas
  • Buy for $0.9914.Jesus is the Best Part of Christmas
  • 15.Enhanced Cd Material (Letter From Zambia/ the Power of Bicycles)

Product Description:

Personnel: Alexis Cole (vocals); Christian Howes (vocals, violin); Jessie C. Lewis (guitar); Zach Brock (violin); Jody Redhage (cello); Don Braden (saxophone, alto saxophone); Alan Ferber (trombone); Jon Cowherd (piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Tedd Firth (piano); Alvin Atkinson, Frederick "Herb" Kennedy (drums); Jeff Haynes (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Jana Herzen; Alexis Cole.
Recording information: Manhattan Beach Studios, NY; Systems Two Studios, Brooklyn, NY; Tedesco Studios, Paramus, NJ; Upland Studios, Pine Hill, NY.
Author: Alexis Cole.
Arrangers: Alan Ferber; Alexis Cole; Ike Sturm.
Alexis Cole is a promising young jazz vocalist who sought to make a difference with her Christmas CD, which benefits World Bicycle Relief, a non-profit organization that provides sustainable transportation for disaster assistance and for poverty relief. Although this is her release, Cole doesn't play a part on every song, instead preferring to showcase many of her friends in widely different settings, not exclusively jazz., while many of the songs aren't widely known as popular Christmas carols. The boisterous opener is "Joy to the World," a breezy post-bop instrumental chart showcasing young guitarist Jessie C. Lewis. Her rich alto voice stands out in the magical arrangement of "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas," with Don Braden adding tasty licks behind her on tenor sax. She recasts the African-American spiritual "Rise Up, Shepherd and Follow" in a traditional Indian setting, accompanied by tambura and tabla, plus soprano, bass, and percussion. Cole shines in the sparse setting of "Happiest Christmas," backed solely by pianist Ted Firth and violinist Christian Howe. Vocalist/pianist Mark Finkin's contemporary settings of "God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen" and "Away in a Manger" pretty much discard the traditional melodies, replacing them with rather forgettable themes, though his modern instrumental arrangement of "O Come, O Come Emmanuel" fares better. Alexis Cole is to be commended for pushing the envelope in her Christmas-themed CD, as the holiday repertoire is long overdue to be expanded. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Product Groupings:

Product Info

  • UPC: 181212000269
  • Shipping Weight: 0.17/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)