Gal Costa Today

1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  W62G
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Gal Costa ~ Our Moments ~ $20.84
  • by Antonio Carlos Jobim ~ Wave ~ $9.44

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: DRG


  • Buy for $0.991.Mar E Sol
  • Buy for $0.992.Voyeur
  • Buy for $0.993.Pra que Cantar
  • Buy for $0.994.Te Adorar
  • Buy for $0.995.Santana
  • Buy for $0.996.Hoje
  • Buy for $0.997.Jurei
  • Buy for $0.998.Logus Pe
  • Buy for $0.999.Luto
  • Buy for $0.9910.Nada a Ver
  • Buy for $0.9911.Os Dois
  • Buy for $0.9912.Sexo E Luz
  • Buy for $0.9913.Embebedado
  • Buy for $0.9914.Um Passo a Frente

Product Description:

Personnel: Gal Costa (vocals); Gal Costa; M rcio Forte (vocals, percussion); Marcus Teixeira (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Ronaldo Frige (midi); Eduarda Martins (acoustic bass); Robinho (bass guitar, background vocals); Daniel De Paula (drums, background vocals); Marcio Forte (percussion); C‚sar Camargo Mariano (piano, electric piano, organ, keyboards, bass synthesizer, midi, electronic percussion).
Audio Mixers: Ronaldo Frige; Luis Paulo Serafim.
Recording information: Trama Studios, Sao Paulo, Brazil.
Photographer: Daniel Klajmic.
Arranger: C‚sar Camargo Mariano.
Hoje is Gal Costa's first release on her new record label, Trama, and was released in the same year Gal turned 60. (It was released stateside a year later and retitled Today.) Most of the tracks are composed by young, still rather unknown composers such as Mois‚s Santana, Junio Barreto, Tito Bahiense, Moreno Veloso, Nuno Ramos, and Marcos Augusto. From Gal's own generation, the illustrious duo Caetano Veloso and Chico Buarque contribute with "Luto" and "Embebedado," respectively. The move to the young, hip label Trama seems to have done good for Gal, as Hoje is her most dynamic and fresh-sounding album in years. But although the songwriters who contributed to the album may be comparatively young, the music in itself is largely traditional, ranging from bossa nova and Afro-Brazilian folk music to Gal's typical brand of soft ballads. One of the most surprising and welcome songwriting contributors to Hoje is the African artist Lokua Kanza, from the Democratic Republic of Congo. Together with Carlos Renn¢, he forms what proves to be a very fine songwriting team. Their lovely ballad "Te Adorar" brings out the best of Gal and is perhaps the most beautiful song on the album. The opening track, "Mar e Sol," with its harmonic, billowing melody, is another little gem by Kanza and Renn¢. ~ Philip Jandovsky

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Gal Costa

Product Info

  • UPC: 021471161328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)