Gal Costa Our Moments

Our Moments
4 ratings
Price: $20.70
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  W62F
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 30, 2007
  • Label: DRG

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.82
"[S]unny and inviting....[With] the joyously romantic 'Alguem Como Tu' and the tender, humble hymn 'Ave-Marie No Morro'..."


  • 1.Linda Flor
  • 2.Sabado Em Copacabana / Copacabana
  • 3.Nossos Momentos
  • 4.Pra Machucar Meu Coracao
  • 5.Dono dos Teus Olhos
  • 6.Bricas
  • 7.Fim de Caso
  • 8.Nervos de Aco
  • 9.Alquem Como Tu
  • 10.Ave-Maria No Morro
  • 11.Chora Tua Tristeza
  • 12.Kalu
  • 13.Folhas Secas
  • 14.E Dai?
  • 15.O Orvalho Vem Caindo / Fita Amarela / Ate Amanha / Palpite Infeliz

Product Description:

This strikingly lovely album was originally recorded in 2003, when the great Brazilian singer Gal Costa was preparing for a gala outdoor concert that was expected to take place in Rio de Janeiro; unfortunately, the funding fell through and the concert never took place. What emerged from the ashes of that disappointment was this studio album, on which Costa looks back on the music of her childhood in the 1940s and '50s -- Brazilian music that predates the bossa nova era. These are songs written by artists who are legends in Brazil but are far less famous outside of their native land: Dorival Caymmi, Evaldo Gouveia, Dolores Duran, and others. Wisely, Costa and her arrangers refrained from trying to replicate the exact sounds of the older recordings, and instead have created modern but respectful new arrangements that prominently feature strings as well as electric instruments, accordion, and winds. Costa was approaching her seventh decade as she made these recordings, but she sings with the voice of someone less than half her age -- her pitch is secure, and her voice is alternately clear and ringing and smoky and sultry depending on the needs of the song. Particular highlights include an especially lovely arrangement of "Kalu," a baiao written by Humberto Teixeira, and an Ary Barroso samba titled "Pra Machucar Meu Cora‡ao," but everything on this album is of the highest quality. Very highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Gal Costa

Product Info

  • UPC: 021471161724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)