Ann Hampton Callaway Ann Hampton Callaway

Ann Hampton Callaway
8 ratings
Price: $15.07
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  W5YJ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: DRG

Entertainment Reviews:

Stereo Review (12/92, p.99) - "...Not since Jo Stafford has a singer come along with that rare combination of a multi-octave range, awe-inspiring technical command, stylistic versatility, interpretive taste, and a saucy sense of fun...stunning..."


  • Buy for $0.991.I Gaze in Your Eyes
  • Buy for $0.992.But Beautiful
  • Buy for $0.993.Too Late Now
  • Buy for $0.994.I've Got Just About Everything
  • Buy for $0.995.A Time For Love
  • Buy for $0.996.How Deep Is the Ocean
  • Buy for $0.997.I've Got the World on a String
  • Buy for $0.998.Bonus Tracks: My Romance / My Foolish Heart
  • Buy for $0.999.Lush Life - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Like Someone in Love
  • Buy for $0.9911.Here's That Rainy Day
  • Buy for $0.9912.All the Things You Are
  • Buy for $0.9913.I Live to Love You
  • Buy for $0.9914.Our Love Is Here to Stay
  • Buy for $0.9915.Perfect

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ann Hampton Callaway (vocals); Mike Renzi, Michael Abene (arranger, piano, keyboards); Jerry Dodgion (alto saxophone); Cecil Bridgewater (trumpet); Jesse Levy (cello); Jay Berliner (classical guitar).
Recorded at Sound On Sound Studios, New York, New York in March & April 1992.
Includes liner notes by Rex Reed.
Personnel: Jay Berliner (classical guitar); Jesse Levy (cello); Cecil Bridgewater (trumpet); Michael Abene, Mike Renzi (piano, keyboards); Mark Falchook (keyboards, synthesizer); Kenny Washington, Terry Clarke (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Ann Hampton Callaway; Rex Reed.
Recording information: Sound On Sound Recording, Inc., New York, NY; Sound on Sound Studios, New York, NY.
Photographer: Paul Greco.
Arrangers: Michael Abene; Mike Renzi.
At first, she may remind you of Barbra Streisand, but only when Streisand's voice is still in first gear. Unlike Streisand, who soon takes off for the stratosphere, when Ann Hampton Callaway revs her voice up, she reveals a husky alto that occasionally bridges into the soprano range and that suggests, among female singers, Sarah Vaughan's plush tones, but, more than anyone else, the "velvet fog" sound of Mel Torm‚. She emphasizes those jazz-pop antecedents by recording a collection mostly consisting of standards as her first album, with basically a piano-bass-drums backup. At times, notably on "I've Got the World on a String" and "All the Things You Are," the performances cross over into outright jazz; Callaway even mimics a trumpet to duet with trumpeter Cecil Bridgewater on the former. But she possesses a songwriter's concern with lyrics that belies the jazz connection and renews the emotional impact of songs like Irving Berlin's "How Deep Is the Ocean" and the Gershwins' "Our Love Is Here to Stay" (although she gets more out of lesser-known tunes like Burton Lane and Alan Jay Lerner's "Too Late Now" and Johnny Mandel and Paul Francis Webster's "A Time for Love.") Effective as that voice is, it is also highly considered; this daughter of a vocal coach is remembering her lessons and not quite letting go just yet. She opens the album with her musical setting of the Cole Porter lyric "I Gaze in Your Eyes," an unusually direct love song for Porter, and concludes with her own "Perfect," making you wish that she'd devote an album to her own compositions some time. As it is, Ann Hampton Callaway is the debut of a distinctive and promising singer. (Cassette copies of the album do not contain the tracks "My Romance" and "Lush Life.") ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ann Hampton Callaway

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 130,317
  • UPC: 021471141122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)