The Accidental There Were Wolves

There Were Wolves
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  G6KG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Thrill Jockey

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - p.92
3 stars out of 5 -- "[The album] lulls you along with its sparsely melodic tinkering and blippy slow burn."
Entertainment Weekly - p.66
"Hushed vocals describe pastoral landscapes....Mostly acoustic instruments hum and pierce with precise sincerity." -- Grade: A-
"Meandering, melodramatic folk music rarely sounds as vibrant and vital as this UK band's stunning debut."
Q (Magazine) - p.126
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] perfect distillation of creatively experimental folk music in the UK today."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.109
3 stars out of 5 -- "Modal, major chords and studiedly English, unison vocal chorales also pervade, punctuated by more troubadour-like paeans to everyday intimacies..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Knock Knock
  • Buy for $0.992.Wolves
  • Buy for $0.993.I Can Hear Your Voice
  • Buy for $0.994.Jaw of a Whale
  • Buy for $0.995.The Closer I Am
  • Buy for $0.996.Slice Open the Day
  • Buy for $0.997.Illuminated Red
  • Buy for $0.998.Birthday
  • Buy for $0.999.Dream for Me
  • Buy for $0.9910.The Killing Floor
  • Buy for $0.9911.Time and Space

Product Description:

Personnel: Lisa Knapp (dulcimer); Serafina Steer (harp); Rob Spriggs (violin, viola); Jennymay Logan (violin); Laura Moody (cello); Nancy Wallace (background vocals).
Recording information: Stephen Cracknell's front room.
U.K. psych-folk trio the Accidental, though not seeming nearly as haphazard as their name suggests, do emit an aura of creative spontaneity sparked by casual acoustic jam sessions around a camp fire. The group's debut, THERE WERE WOLVES, is an exquisite collection of low-key strumming and minimalist textures. Sticking to simple but effective vocal harmonies and hypnotic, repetitive guitar patterns, they create stark, hushed atmospheres whose beguiling complexity belies their simplicity of means.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 790377019926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)