Andre Kostelanetz Stereo Wonderland of Golden Hits / I Wish You Love

Stereo Wonderland of Golden Hits / I Wish You Love
3 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 7875
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: August 26, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia CS 8839 (1963)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia CS 8985 (1964)

Description by

A world-acclaimed conductor and arranger, Andre Kostelanetz performs some of the era's best known songs with his own flair and originality. This CD features Kostelanetz's classic 1963 LP and includes his interpretations of the biggest hits of the era "Maria Elena", "Blue Velvet" and "Fly Me To The Moon".


  • 1.Days Of Wine And Roses
  • 2.Walk On The Wild Side
  • 3.Rambling Rose
  • 4.Desafinado
  • 5.A Taste Of Honey
  • 6.Can't Get Used To Losing You
  • 7.Calcutta
  • 8.What Kind Of Fool Am I?
  • 9.Devil Woman
  • 10.Moon River
  • 11.I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 12.Fly Me To The Moon (In Other Words)
  • 13.Fools Rush In (Where Angels Fear To Tread)
  • 14.Maria Elena
  • 15.Hello, Dolly!
  • 16.Deep Purple
  • 17.I Will Follow Him
  • 18.Blue Velvet
  • 19.I Wish You Love
  • 20.Java
  • 21.Shangri-La
  • 22.Bluesette
  • 23.Ebb Tide
  • 24.The Fall Of Love

Product Description:

The common knock against Andre Kostelanetz is that the conductor's myriad recordings are virtually interchangeable, yet ask most music buffs to recommend or even name a Kostelanetz LP, and the answer is likely to be STEREO WONDERLAND OF GOLDEN HITS. Which begs a question--why? What makes this particular album the go-to release in a catalog teeming with dozens of titles? It could be its digital-era longevity: It's one of the few Kostelanetz titles reissued as a stand-alone CD. It could also be its cover: with her flowing strawberry-blonde mane, piercing blue eyes, and canary-yellow sweater, the model seems to capture a kind of innocence lost in the immediate wake of the album's 1963 release and the subsequent assassination of President John F. Kennedy. Or most likely, it's the album's sound-- Kostelanetz's mastery of stereo recording was by this point absolute, and his renditions of contemporary favorites like "The Days of Wine and Roses," "Desafinado," and "Moon River" pour from the speakers with the thickness, richness, and sweetness of cake batter. Either way, it's definitely the entry point for the Kostelanetz canon, and more than likely the only record of his you'll ever need.
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Andre Kostelanetz

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,734
  • UPC: 090431787526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)