Jimmy Witherspoon Roots

SALE: $9.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $2.99 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 7754
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 28, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Reprise 6057 (1962)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Originally released by Reprise in 1962, this album features blues legend Jimmy Witherspoon in a duet with saxophonist Ben Webster.


  • 1.I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water
  • 2.I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
  • 3.Key To The Highway
  • 4.Did You Ever
  • 5.Confessin' The Blues
  • 6.Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
  • 7.Your Red Wagon
  • 8.Rain Is Such A Lonesome Sound
  • 9.Cherry Red
  • 10.It's A Low Down Dirty Shame
  • 11.Just A Dream
  • 12.Please, Mr. Webster

Product Description:

Personnel: Jimmy Witherspoon (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Nat Hentoff.
Jimmy Witherspoon laid out two great records in 1962 on Reprise, Spoon and this one. Roots places the great blues singer and guitarist in the company of saxophonist Ben Webster, trumpeter Gerald Wilson, and a rhythm section consisting of pianist Ernie Freeman and drummer Jim Miller. The mood is laid-back, down-home, and full of emotion and sentiment. The warmth of Witherspoon's voice on material like "Your Red Wagon," "I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water," "Key to the Highway" (in one of the more unique versions ever recorded), and Jimmy Rushing's "Did You Ever" is on the other side of lonesome. Webster and Wilson underscore the sung lines with fills that accent the deep blue in Witherspoon's vocal. Jay McShann's "Confessin' the Blues" is a more jazzed-up arrangement, but Witherspoon's deep in the R&B groove here, taking a hint from Joe Turner. The finger-popping read of Turner's "It's a Low Down Dirty Shame" is in the gutbucket; the rhythm section swings hard. It's not as raucous as the original, but Witherspoon's smooth, clear, and deep register is beautifully complemented first by Wilson's solo and then by Webster's. The real stunner is near the end, when the band takes on Big Bill Broonzy's "Just a Dream," where Witherspoon wails and moans the blues. It's just chilling. This is one of those recordings that is a true hidden classic. It was reissued on CD in 2006 by Collectables. ~ Thom Jurek
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Witherspoon

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 42,923
  • UPC: 090431775424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)