Rahsaan Roland Kirk Kirkatron / Boogie Woogie String Along For Real (2-CD)

Kirkatron / Boogie Woogie String Along For Real
2 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 7675
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Warner Bros. BS 2982 (1977)
  • Original Album #2: Warner Bros. BSK 3085 (1978)

Description by OLDIES.com:

To this day, the late Rahsaan Roland Kirk remains one of the most electrifying saxophonists of all time. A mix of genius and pure imagination, Kirk saw no boundaries to his instruments; a belief that was reflected on his studio work. Originally released in 1977 by Warner Bros., Kirkatron was comprised of originally unreleased studio work and contains 12 brilliant tracks.

Boogie-Woogie String Along For Real was originally released in 1978 by Warner Bros. and is widely considered to be Kirk's greatest studio achievement. Furthermore, Kirk has the rare distinction of having his last album ever be his finest. This album is highlighted by the title track and "Make Me A Pallet on the Floor."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Serenade To A Cuckoo
  • 2.This Masquerade
  • 3.Sugar
  • 4.Los Angeles Negro Chorus
  • 5.Steppin' Into Beauty
  • 6.The Christmas Song
  • 7.Bagpipe Medley
  • 8.Mary McLeod Bethune
  • 9.Bright Moments
  • 10.Lyriconon
  • 11.A Night In Tunisia
  • 12.J. Griff's Blues
  • 13.Boogie-Woogie String Along For Real
  • 14.I Loves You, Porgy
  • 15.Make Me A Pallet On The Floor
  • 16.Hey Babebips
  • 17.In A Mellow Tone
  • 18.Summertime
  • 19.Dorthaan's Walk
  • 20.Watergate Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Boogie-Woogie String Along For Real
  • 2.I Loves You, Porgy
  • 3.Make Me A Pallet On The Floor
  • 4.Hey Babebips
  • 5.In A Mellow Tone
  • 6.Summertime
  • 7.Dorthaan's Walk
  • 8.Watergate Blues
Song previews provided courtesy of iTunes

Product Description:

Personnel: Rahsaan Roland Kirk (flute, harmonica, clarinet, manzello, tenor saxophone, lyricon, kalimba); Cornell Dupree, Tiny Grimes, Billy Butler (guitar); Percy Heath, Kermit Moore (cello); Steve Turre (trombone); Howard Johnson (tuba); Sammy Price (piano); William S. Fischer (electric piano, synthesizer); Trudy Pitts (organ); Hilton Ruiz, Richard Tee (keyboards); Phil Bowler, Arvell Shaw, Milton Suggs , Mattathias Pearson (bass instrument); Sonny Brown, Walter Perkins (drums); Tony Waters (percussion).
This issue combines two late-period Rahsaan Roland Kirk albums: Kirkatron, begun shortly before the major stroke that debilitated him and shortened his life, and Boogie-Woogie String Along for Real, his first attempt at a comeback and his final recording. Kirkatron hosts three tunes recorded for it, and nine more that were outtakes from the preceding 5000 Lb. Man sessions, and a few from the Live at the Montreux Jazz Festival concert. As such it does contain a number of tunes that define the man at the height of his powers including a cover of Leon Russell's "This Masquerade," the live "Serenade to a Cuckoo," and a fine "Bright Moments." His bandmates on the date include a young Hilton Ruiz on piano and Steve Turre. Boogie-Woogie String Along for Real does stand in contrast to Kirkatron. The intensity and intention is there, but it's more subtle, informed no doubt by the fact that Kirk had taught himself to play with only his left hand because his right had been rendered unusable by the accident. He also employed a full string section, taking his music into a new direction. But there are beautiful and deeply soulful moments here, as well, including "Summertime," the wonderfully up "Dorthaan's Walk," the deep blues of "Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor," and the barrelhouse title track which opens the set. ~ Thom Jurek
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Rahsaan Roland Kirk

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,443
  • UPC: 090431767528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)