Collectables Records

Eddie Harris Come On Down! / The Reason Why I'm Talking S--t (2-CD)

Come On Down! / The Reason Why I'm Talking S--t
27% OFF
Rating 3.3
3 ratings
List Price: $14.97
SALE PRICE: $10.98
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  COL 7672
on most orders of $75
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1554 (1970)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 18165 (1976)

Description by

Two fantastic albums by the vastly underrated jazz genius Eddie Harris. Come On Down! was originally released by Atlantic in 1970 and it reached #40 on the Billboard Black Albums Chart and went all the way to #8 on the Billboard Jazz Albums Chart. The Reason Why I'm Talking S--t is the accompanying album and it features a collection of the jazz legend's hilarious banter taken from various live performances.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Don't You Know Your Future's In Space
  • 2.Live Right Now
  • 3.Really
  • 4.Nowhere To Go
  • 5.Fooltish
  • 6.Why Don't You Quit
  • 7.Don't You Know Your Future's In Space
  • 8.Live Right Now
  • 9.Really
  • 10.Nowhere To Go
  • 11.Fooltish
  • 12.Why Don't You Quit

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.People Getting Ready To Go See Eddie Harris
  • 2.What I'm Thinking, Before I Start Playing
  • 3.Are There Any Questions
  • 4.The Reason Why I'm Talking
  • 5.The Next Band
  • 6.Ain't S--t Happening
  • 7.Project And High Rises
  • 8.Singing And Straining
  • 9.People Enjoying Themselves
  • 10.Eddie Atlantic
  • 11.People Getting Ready To Go See Eddie Harris
  • 12.What I'm Thinking, Before I Start Playing
  • 13.Are There Any Questions
  • 14.The Reason Why I'm Talking
  • 15.The Next Band
  • 16.Ain't S--t Happening
  • 17.Project And High Rises
  • 18.Singing And Straining
  • 19.People Enjoying Themselves
  • 20.Eddie Atlantic

Product Description:

Personnel: Eddie Harris (electric saxophone); Eddie Harris; Dave Crawford (piano); Donald "Duck" Dunn, Bradley Bobo (bass guitar); Paul Humphrey , Paul Humphrey & the Cool Aid Chemists (drums); Ronald Muldrow (unknown instrument); Cornell Dupree, Joe Diorio, Jimmy O'Rourke (guitar); Ira Sullivan (trumpet); Odell Brown, Billy Carter (organ); Tubby Zeigler (drums); Calvin Barnes (percussion).
Recording information: Amazing Grace Night Club, Evanston, IL (1970-1975); Criteria Studios, Miami, FL (1970-1975); Howard Rumsey's Concert By The Sea, Redondo Beach, CA (1970-1975); Longhorn Restaurant Cafe, Minneapolis, MN (1970-1975); Teddy's Lounge, Milwaukee, WI (1970-1975).
Photographer: Giuseppe Pino.
Eddie Harris received a lot of critical flak in the 1970s from jazz purists for his experiments in hard-driving soul-jazz and his forays into stand-up comedy. Those jazz purists should avoid this two-disc set, which brings together a couple of Harris albums from the era. COME ON DOWN! is a sweet, groove-oriented outing featuring original compositions and some fine blowing from Harris. THE REASON I'M TALKING S**T showcases Harris as bawdy comic, riffing on extended dirty jokes while his band chimes in now and then to break up the monologues. This is by no means Charlie Parker, but it has its place.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Eddie Harris

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 51,301
  • UPC: 090431767221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items