Jim Kweskin Garden of Joy (Featuring Geoff And Maria Muldaur) / Jim Kweskin's America (2-CD)

Garden of Joy (Featuring Geoff And Maria Muldaur)
7 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 7668
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Jim Kweskin explored the lighter side of folk with both his Jug Band as well as on his solo ventures. Garden of Joy was originally released by Warner Bros. in 1967 and features Jim with the Jug Band taking on the Duke Ellington standard "Mood Indigo." America was originally released in 1971 (also by Warner Bros.) and includes Kweskin's take on "Okie From Muskogee," which was written by Merle Haggard.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.If You're A Viper
  • 2.Minglewood
  • 3.Garden Of Joy
  • 4.The Circus Song
  • 5.My Old Man
  • 6.Kaloobafak [I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)]
  • 7.The Sheik Of Araby
  • 8.When I Was A Cowboy
  • 9.Mood Indigo
  • 10.I Ain't Gonna Marry
  • 11.Ella Speed
  • 12.Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Back In The Saddle Ray
  • 2.Sugar Babe
  • 3.Okie From Muskogee
  • 4.99 Year Blues
  • 5.Rambling Round Your City
  • 6.Amelia Earhart's Last Flight
  • 7.Stealin'
  • 8.Old Rugged Cross
  • 9.Dark As A Dungeon
  • 10.Old Black Joe

Product Description:

Adapter: Jim Kweskin.
Personnel: Jim Kweskin (vocals, guitar, banjo); Jim Kweskin (various instruments); Fritz Richmond (vocals, various instruments, bass instrument); Richard Greene & Beryl Marriott, Richard Greene (violin, viola); Mel Lyman (harmonica); Geoff Muldaur (vocals, guitar, mandolin, clarinet, washboard); Maria Muldaur (vocals, kazoo, tambourine); Bill Keith (banjo); Gary Chester (drums).
Liner Note Author: Richard Herbruck.
Photographer: Jerry Burchard.
Arrangers: Jim Kweskin; Lyman Family.
This two-disc set from Collectables gathers a pair of out of print LPs by folk musician Jim Kweskin: Garden of Joy and America, both originally issued on Warner Bros./Reprise in 1967 and 1971, respectively. Highlights among the 22 tracks include the vocals of Maria Muldaur (on the 1967 session only) and the ten cover versions of jug band, traditional folk, and country favorites on America, from a wide variety of talented musicians led by Kweskin. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Jim Kweskin

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431766828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)