Hank Crawford Dig These Blues / After Hours

Dig These Blues / After Hours
4 ratings
SALE: $3.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $10.99 (73% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 7659
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1436 (1965)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1455 (1966)

Description by OLDIES.com:

A pairing of albums originally released by Hank Crawford on the Atlantic label in the mid-60's. Session players on these two albums include Wendel Harrison, Howard Johnson, Milt Turner, Jimmy Owens, John Hunt and others.


  • 1.Dig These Blues
  • 2.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 3.Banana Head
  • 4.H.C. Blues
  • 5.It's A Sin
  • 6.Hollywood Blues
  • 7.Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  • 8.New Blues
  • 9.Bluff City Blues
  • 10.After Hours
  • 11.Junction
  • 12.Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
  • 13.Next Time You See Me
  • 14.Soul Shoutin'
  • 15.Makin' Whoopee
  • 16.When Did You Leave Heaven
  • 17.The Back Slider

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: DIG THESE BLUES (1965)/AFTER HOURS (1966).
Originally released on Atlantic.
Personnel: Hank Crawford (alto saxophone, piano); Hank Crawford; Sonny Forriest, Willie Jones (guitar); Wilbur Brown, Abdul Baari (tenor saxophone); Alonzo Shaw (baritone saxophone); Philip Guilbeau, Fielder Floyd, Phil Guilbeau, Julius Brooks (trumpet); Edgar Willis (bass instrument); Ali Mohammed (double bass); Joe Dukes, Wilbert G.T. Hogan (drums); Wendell Harrison (tenor saxophone); Howard Johnson , Leroy Cooper (baritone saxophone); Oliver Beener, Jimmy Owens, Marcus Belgrave, John Hunt (trumpet); Milt Turner, Bruno Carr (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Rudi Blesh; Nat Hentoff.
This is one smokin' two-fer. Two of Hank Crawford's finest albums are packaged here on a single disc. Both issued in the mid-'60s, they showcase Crawford in fine company and wonderful contrast. Dig These Blues is a more down-home affair, in the pocket for the most part with midtempo blues tunes as well as a touch of Memphis-style Ellingtonia in "Don't Get Around Much Anymore." The utterly elegant and beautiful version of Charlie Warfield's "Baby Won't You Please Come Home" is done septet style, with Marcus Belgrave on trumpet. This album's closer, "Bluff City Blues," foreshadows After Hours in that Crawford is featured on piano. Released in 1966, After Hours is the mirror image of Dig These Blues in that it features more slow than middle tempos and more blues tunes than jazz numbers, and also has Crawford playing two piano workouts, including an extended one on the title track. Wendell Harrison is in evidence on Dig These Blues, as is bassist Charles Green. These are deep soul groove titles for Crawford and illustrate perfectly the enormity of his reputation. ~ Thom Jurek
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Hank Crawford

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 917
  • UPC: 090431765920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)